Award Winners

The American Public Power Association recognizes public power utilities and their employees for exceptional service, safety, and reliability.

Association members can click here to learn how and when to submit nominations for the utility and individual awards listed (nominations accepted through Jan 30, 2018) below as well as Century Awards and Honor Roll certificates (nominations accepted year-round).

Outstanding Utilities, 2017

E.F. Scattergood System Achievement Award

Honors American Public Power Association member utilities with outstanding accomplishments. (Previous winners)

women at Coldwater Board of Public Utilities table Keys Energy Services service building Lincoln Electric System employees and child
Coldwater Board of Public Utilities, Michigan Keys Energy Services, Florida Lincoln Electric System, Nebraska


Community Service Award

Recognizes utilities for good neighbor activities that show commitment to the local community. (Previous winners)

  BTES employees on red nose day   Colorado Springs Utilities presenting safety demo in a classroom  
  Bristol Tennessee Essential Services, Tennessee   Colorado Springs Utilities, Colorado  
  Hamilton Utilities   Tacoma Public Utilities volunteers at food pantry  
  Hamilton Department of Electric, Ohio   Tacoma Public Utilities, Washington  


Outstanding Public Power Leaders, 2017

Alex Radin Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes exceptional leadership and dedication to public power. (Previous winners)

  Gil Quiniones   Paula DiFonzo  
  Gil C. Quiniones, President and CEO, New York Power Authority, New York   Paula DiFonzo, Past Board Chair, American Public Power Association and Retired CEO, New Braunfels Utilities, Texas  


James D. Donovan Individual Achievement Award

Recognizes people who have made substantial contributions to the electric utility industry, with a special commitment to public power. (Previous winners)

  Doc Mueller   Anthony Ward  
  Phillip “Doc” Mueller, Senior Vice President, Government Affairs & Management Services, Illinois Municipal Electric Agency   Anthony T. Ward, Retired General Manager, Grand Rapids Public Utilities Commission, Minnesota  


Alan H. Richardson Statesmanship Award

Recognizes public power leaders who work to achieve consensus on national issues important to public power utilities. (Previous winners)

  Mike Vinson  
  Mike Vinson, Executive Director, Tennessee Municipal Electric Power Association  


Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award

Recognizes managers  — of small utilities serving fewer than 2,500 meters — who have a small staff and must assume multiple roles. (Previous winners)

Johnnie Burns Ron Clodfelter Shawn Guidice
Johnnie Burns, Electric & Water Distribution Superintendent, Village of Yellow Springs, Ohio Ron Clodfelter, Electric Superintendent, Las Animas Municipal Light and Power, Colorado Shawn Guidice, Utilities Superintendent, Rising Sun Municipal Utilities, Indiana
  Mike New   Dave Slezickey  
  Mike New, City Manager, City of Newberry, Florida   Dave Slezickey, City Manager, Kingfisher Power, Oklahoma  


Harold Kramer-John Preston Personal Service Award

Recognizes individuals for their service to the American Public Power Association. (Previous winners)

  Grant Lacerte   Mike Willets  
  Arthur J. (Grant) Lacerte, Jr., Vice President and General Counsel, Kissimmee Utility Authority, Florida   Mike Willetts, Director of Safety and Training, Minnesota Municipal Utilities Association  


Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award

Recognizes elected or appointed local officials who have contributed to the goals of the American Public Power Association. (Previous winners)

Stan Akers Thomas Kuntz Charles Lamb
Stan Akers, Service Board Chairman, Peru Utilities, Indiana Thomas A. Kuntz, Mayor, Owatonna, Minnesota Charles D. Lamb, Mayor, City of Edmond and Board Chair, Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority


Robert E. Roundtree Rising Star Award

Scholarship for a future leader in public power. The recipient receives a stipend to travel to an Association conference or training program to advance their education and development in public power. (Previous winners)

  Kyle Roadman  
  Kyle Roadman, Manager, Power Resources, Emerald People's Utility District, Oregon  


Mark Crisson Leadership and Managerial Excellence Award

Recognizes managers at a utility, joint action agency, or state or regional association who steer their organizations to new levels of excellence, lead by example, and inspire staff to do better. (Previous winners)

  Paul Beckhusen   Ivan Henderson  
  Paul Beckhusen, Director, Coldwater Board of Public Utilities, Michigan   Ivan Henderson, Commissioner, Cleveland Public Power, Ohio