Energy Efficiency
Distributed Energy Resources

Smart Energy Provider Program Designees

The American Public Power Association’s Smart Energy Provider (SEP) program recognizes utilities for demonstrating commitment to and accomplishment in smart energy program planning, energy efficiency and distributed energy resources, environmental and sustainability programs, and communication and customer experience. Below is a list of public power utilities that currently hold the SEP designation. Utilities keep the SEP designation for two years.

Current SEP Designees

Alameda Municipal Power, CA (2020)
Ames Municipal Electric System, IA (2020)
Bryan Texas Utilities, TX (2020)
City of Negaunee, MI (2020)
City of Wadsworth Electric and Communications, OH (2020)
City Utilities of Springfield, MO (2020)
Coldwater Board of Public Utilities, MI (2020)
Detroit Lakes Public Utilities, MN (2020)
Eagle River Light and Water Utility, WI (2020)
Glendale Water & Power, CA (2020)
Greenville Utilities Commission, NC (2020)
Hartford Utilities, WI (2020)
Hetch Hetchy Power, San Francisco Public Utilities Commission, CA (2020)
Juneau Utilities, WI (2020)
Knoxville Utilities Board, TN (2020)
Long Island Power Authority, NY (2020)
Loveland Water and Power, CO (2020)
New River Light and Power Company, NC (2020)
Omaha Public Power District, NE (2020)
PUD #1 of Clallam County, WA (2020)
Saint Peter Municipal Utilities, MN (2020)
Shrewsbury Electric and Cable Operations, MA (2020)
Slinger Utilities, WI (2020)
Sturgeon Bay Utilities, WI (2020)
Tullahoma Utilities Authority, TN (2020)
Turlock Irrigation District, CA (2020)
Waupun Utilities, WI (2020)
Anaheim Public Utilities, CA (2021)
Austin Energy, TX (2021)
Belmont Municipal Light Department, MA (2021)
Borough of Chambersburg, PA (2021)
Braintree Electric Light Department, MA (2021)
Burlington Electric Department, VT (2021)
CDE Lightband, TN (2021)
Cedar Falls Utilities, IA (2021)
Cedarburg Light and Water Commission, WI (2021)
Chelan County PUD, WA (2021)
City of Bowling Green, OH (2021)
City of Colton, CA (2021)
City of Columbia Water & Light, MO (2021)
City of Palo Alto Utilities, CA (2021)
City of Tallahassee Electric Utility, FL (2021)
Clark Public Utilities, WA (2021)
Colorado Springs Utilities, CO (2021)
Columbus Water & Light, WI (2021)
Danvers Electric Division, MA (2021)
Elk River Municipal Utilities, MN (2021)
EPB, TN (2021)
Fayetteville Public Works Commission, NC (2021)
Florence Utilities, WI (2021)
Fort Collins Light and Power, CO (2021)
Guam Power Authority, GU (2021)
Holland Board of Public Works, MI (2021)
Holyoke Gas & Electric Department, MA (2021)
Independence Light & Power, IA (2021)
Independence Power & Light, MO (2021)
Jefferson Utilities, WI (2021)
Kansas City Board of Public Utilities, KS (2021)
Kaukauna Utilities, WI (2021)
Kissimmee Utility Authority, FL (2021)
Lake Mills Light & Water, WI (2021)
Lansing Board of Water & Light, MI (2021)
Lincoln Electric System, NE (2021)
Littleton Electric Light and Water Departments, MA (2021)
Longmont Power & Communications, CO (2021)
Maquoketa Municipal Electric Utility, IA (2021)
Mason County PUD No. 3, WA (2021)
Menasha Utilities, WI (2021)
Middleborough Gas & Electric Department, MA (2021)
Moorhead Public Service, MN (2021)
Muscatine Power & Water, IA (2021)
Naperville Electric Utility, IL (2021)
Napoleon Power & Light, OH  (2021)
Nebraska Public Power District, NE (2021)
New Braunfels Utilities, TX (2021)
New Holstein Utilities, WI (2021)
New London Utilities, WI (2021)
New Richmond Utilities, WI (2021)
New York Power Authority, NY (2021)
Norwich Public Utilities, CT (2021)
Oconomowoc Utilities, WI (2021)
Oconto Falls Municipal Utilities, WI (2021)
Richland Center Electric Department, WI (2021)
River Falls Municipal Utilities, WI (2021)
Salt River Project, AZ (2021)
Santee Cooper, SC (2021)
Silicon Valley Power, CA (2021)
Snohomish PUD, WA (2021)
Stoughton Utilities , WI (2021)
Sun Prairie Utilities, WI (2021)
Tacoma Power, WA (2021)
Taunton Municipal Lighting Plant, MA (2021)
Two Rivers Water & Light, WI (2021)
Wakefield Municipal Gas and Light Department, MA (2021)
Waunakee Utilities, WI (2021)
Westerville Electric Division, OH (2021)
Wilson Energy, NC (2021)