Powering Strong Communities

NCMPA 1 Nears PPA Completion Tied to Sale of Capacity, Energy From Nuclear Plant

North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1 and Central Electric Power Cooperative Inc. are near completion of a purchase power agreement that will enable Central Electric Power Cooperative to purchase nuclear capacity and energy associated with a portion of NCMPA1’s ownership interest in the Catawba Nuclear Station.

Under the terms of the agreement, Central will receive 150 megawatts, totaling 18% of NCMPA1’s project output.

The agreement diversifies NCMPA1’s energy resource portfolio and provides wholesale electric rate savings to NCMPA1’s 19 member communities.

“This agreement is an important step in diversifying the energy portfolio for public power communities in the western part of the state and delivers significant wholesale electric rate savings to those communities,” said Roy Jones, CEO of ElectriCities, in a statement.

“The 19 unanimous city and town council votes are a strong reminder of the strength and partnership of those communities working together to set up public power for success now and far into the future,” he said.

The agreement would provide Central, a not-for-profit generation and transmission cooperative headquartered in Columbia, South Carolina, with additional nuclear capacity to serve South Carolina’s 20 distribution cooperatives.

Completion of the agreement is subject to several conditions, including unanimous consent of all 19 NCMPA1 participant city and town councils.

As of Aug. 30, all 19 NCMPA1 participants voted to approve the agreement.

The ElectriCities Board of Directors and the NCMPA1 Board of Commissioners approved the agreement earlier this year.

The agreement is slated to go into effect January 1, 2024, and will continue through the term of the Catawba Nuclear Station, which is currently licensed through 2043.

The Catawba Nuclear Station, which consists of two identical units, is jointly owned by NCMPA1, Duke Energy Carolinas, Piedmont Municipal Power Agency, and the North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation, with NCMPA1 owning 75% of Catawba Unit 2.

NCMPA1 is made up of 19 participating cities and towns in piedmont and western North Carolina and provides wholesale power to those participants.

The 19 NCMPA1 participants are Albemarle, Bostic, Cherryville, Cornelius, Drexel, Gastonia, Granite Falls, High Point, Huntersville, Landis, Lexington, Lincolnton, Maiden, Monroe, Morganton, Newton, Pineville, Shelby, and Statesville.

NEW Topics