Meeting

Accounting & Finance Virtual Summit

Discuss the latest trends and issues in utility finance, rate design, and accounting with your peers
April 19 - 20, 2023
Virtual Event
Sponsors
The 2023 Accounting & Finance Virtual Summit (April 19-20) will be a virtual/online meeting.

The Accounting & Finance Virtual Summit is an opportunity for public power professionals to learn, network, and discuss current trends and issues with peers from around the country.

Educational Credits
Attendees can earn up to 10.2 continuing professional education (CPE) credits and 1 additional continuing education unit (CEU) or 8.5 professional development hours (PDHs) for attending qualifying sessions.

More Information

Registration: [email protected]

Program/Content: [email protected]

Billing: [email protected]

 

Agenda

The 2023 Accounting & Finance Virtual Summit program will be available in early 2023.

Registrants will receive information on joining remotely as we get nearer to the event. If you have any questions, contact [email protected]


Wednesday, April 19

To be announced
11 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET / 10 – 11:30 a.m. CT / 9 – 10:30 a.m. MT / 8 – 9:30 a.m. PT

Break
12:30 – 1 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. – 12 p.m. CT / 10:30 – 11 a.m. MT / 9:30 – 10 a.m. PT

To be announced
1 – 2:15 p.m.  ET  / Noon – 1:15 p.m. CT / 11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. MT / 10 – 11:15 a.m. PT

Break
2:15 – 2:30 p.m. ET / 1:15 – 1:30 p.m. CT / 12:15 – 12:30 p.m. MT / 11:15 – 11:30 a.m. PT

To be announced
2:30 – 3:45 p.m. ET / 1:30 – 2:45 p.m. CT / 12:30 – 1:45 a.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. PT

 


Thursday, April 20

To be announced
11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. ET / 10 – 11:15 a.m. CT / 9 – 10:15 a.m. MT / 8 – 9:15 a.m. PT

Break
12:15 – 12:30 p.m. ET / 11:15 – 11:30 a.m. CT / 10:15 – 10:30 p.m. MT / 9:15 – 9:30 a.m. PT

To be announced
12:30 – 1:45 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. CT / 10:30 – 11:45 a.m. MT / 9:30 – 10:45 a.m. PT

Break
1:45 – 2:15 p.m. ET / 12:45 – 1:15 p.m. CT / 11:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. MT / 10:45 – 11:15 a.m. PT

Accounting & Finance Roundtable
2:15 – 3:15 p.m. ET / 1:15 – 2:15 p.m. CT / 12:15 – 1:15 p.m. MT / 11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. PT

Share your experiences and ask questions of your fellow public power attendees about your biggest challenges in utility accounting and finance. Discussion topics might include remote working best standards, accounting for federal grants, and more.

Roundtable discussions are limited to employees of public power utilities, state and regional associations, and joint action agencies.

Break
3:15 – 3:30 p.m. ET / 2:15 – 2:30 p.m. CT / 1:15 – 1:30 p.m. MT / 12:15 – 12:30 p.m. PT

To be announced
3:30 – 4:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 – 3:30 p.m. CT / 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. MT / 12:30 – 1:30 p.m. PT

Summit Adjourns
4:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. CT / 2:30 p.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. PT

Registration

Registration will open in early 2023.

Registering five or more people? Scroll down for information about our Group Registration Discounts.

Registration Fees

Registration fees have not been finalized yet for the 2023 Accounting & Finance Virtua Summit, but 2022 prices are provided below for ballpark budgeting purposes. 

2022 Registration Fees

  Before early registration deadline After early registration deadline
Member $575 $625
Nonmember $1,150 $1,200

The early registration deadline for the 2023 Accounting & Finance Virtual Summit will be March 17, 2023. 

Not yet an American Public Power Association member? Join today and save $525 on your conference registration. Contact [email protected] to learn more. 

Group Discounts

Save money on each registration for the Accounting & Finance Virtual Summit when your organization registers 5 or more people. The larger your group, the more you save!

Your group discount will be automatically applied when you register a group of 5 or more people. Registrations must be submitted on the same order (at the same time) to qualify for the group discount; discounts cannot be retroactively applied to previous orders.

Number of registrants

Discount
(per person)

1-4

n/a

5-9

$50

10-14

$100

15-24

$150


25+
 
$200

Cancellation, Refund, and Substitution Policy

Registrants who cancel in writing on or before Wednesday, April 12, 2022, are entitled to a refund of their registration fee, minus a $50 cancellation fee. Registrants who cancel after April 12 will not receive a refund, but attendee substitutions will be allowed for the 2023 Accounting & Finance Virtual Summit only. Registrants and no-shows who do not cancel on or before April 12 are responsible for the full registration fee and are not entitled to a refund of their registration fee. 

Cancellation requests must be made through your my.publicpower portal, or addressed to: [email protected].

Code of Conduct

Attendees of American Public Power Association meetings agree to abide by the APPA Code of Conduct. If attendees engage in unacceptable behavior as outlined in the Code of Conduct, APPA may take any action it deems appropriate, including, but not limited to, expulsion from the current and future meetings with no warning or refund.

Contact Us

Registration: [email protected]

Program/Content: [email protected]

Billing: [email protected]

Frequently Asked Questions

When will I get more information about how to participate in the virtual roundtable?

Registrants will receive information on how to join the virtual conference a few days before the event. If you have any questions, contact [email protected].

What is a virtual event?

A virtual event simulates an in-person event, but involves people interacting online, rather than in a physical environment.

APPA is committed to delivering an engaging, accessible, and inclusive platform to convene the national public power community to connect, learn, and share knowledge and solutions. We are working quickly to develop an informative and engaging virtual experience, allowing participants to easily access important topics and sessions, and to connect with other participants for face-to-face conversations using video chats. Specifics regarding the new virtual experience will be shared in the coming weeks.

Can I earn educational credits for attending this virtual roundtable?

Yes, you can earn the following kinds of educational credits for participating in sessions during the virtual conference:

  • Continuing Education Units (CEUs) from the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)
  • Professional Development Hours (PDHs) as established by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES)
  • Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Credits from the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)

Please note that you will only be able to earn educational credits for the sessions you attend in real time during the virtual conference. We are not able to offer educational credits for any session recordings you watch later. To receive a certificate for your participation, participants must complete the online conference evaluation after the event.

What platform will the virtual conference take place on?

APPA will use Zoom for the event.

What is the policy on refunds, cancellations and attendee substitutions?

Registrants who cancel in writing on or before Wednesday, April 12, 2022, are entitled to a refund of their registration fee, minus a $50 cancellation fee. Registrants who cancel after April 12 will not receive a refund, but attendee substitutions will be allowed for the 2023 Accounting & Finance Virtual Summit only. Registrants and no-shows who do not cancel on or before April 12 are responsible for the full registration fee and are not entitled to a refund of their registration fee. 

What is the APPA Code of Conduct for meeting attendees?

Attendees of American Public Power Association meetings agree to abide by the APPA Code of Conduct. If attendees engage in unacceptable behavior as outlined in the Code of Conduct, APPA may take any action it deems appropriate, including but not limited to, expulsion from the current and future meetings, with no warning or refund.

More questions?

Contact [email protected].