Meeting

Accounting & Finance Virtual Roundtable

Discuss the latest trends and issues in utility finance, rate design, and accounting with your peers
April 22 - 23, 2021
Arlington, Virginia
Sponsors
The 2021 Accounting & Finance Virtual Roundtable (April 22-23) will be a virtual/online meeting.

The Accounting & Finance Virtual Roundtable is an opportunity for public power professionals to learn, network, and discuss current trends and issues with peers from around the country.

Register now!

Educational Credits
Attendees can earn up to 10.2 continuing professional education (CPE) credits and 1 additional continuing education unit (CEU) or 8.5 professional development hours (PDHs) for attending qualifying sessions.

More Information

Registration Information:
Phone: 202-467-2978; Email: [email protected]

Hotel Information:
Phone: 202-467-2941; Email: [email protected]

Program/Content Information:
Phone: 202-467-2976; Email: [email protected]

Billing Information:
Phone: 202-467-2967; Fax: 202-495-7467; Email: [email protected]

Agenda

Register now!

Registrants will receive information on joining remotely as we get nearer to the event. If you have any questions, please reach out to [email protected]


Thursday, April 22

GASB Update
11 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET / 10 – 11:30 a.m. CT / 9 – 10:30 a.m. MT / 8 – 9:30 a.m. PT

Get the latest news and updates from the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) and how any changes might affect your public power utility’s accounting & reporting. Hear directly from a GASB representative about recent and proposed changes and additions and discuss what’s in the pipeline.

Deborah Beams, CPA, Supervising Project Manager, Governmental Accounting Standards Board, Norwalk, Connecticut

Break
12:30 – 1 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. – 12 p.m. CT / 10:30 – 11 a.m. MT / 9:30 – 10 a.m. PT

Tales from the Two Washingtons: Trends in Federal and Local Financial Assistance
1 – 2:15 p.m.  ET  / Noon – 1:15 p.m. CT / 11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. MT / 10 – 11:15 a.m. PT

Learn about one utility’s approach to current collection challenges and the community programs that help cover its customers’ utility bills, including novel uses of federal resources. Get the inside scoop on what’s happening in Washington, D.C. around financial legislation and how public power will likely need to adapt.

John Godfrey, Senior Government Relations Director, American Public Power Association, Washington, D.C., and Steve Taylor, Director of Regulatory & Regional Affairs, Cowlitz County Public Utility District, Longview, Washington

Break
2:15 – 2:30 p.m. ET / 1:15 – 1:30 p.m. CT / 12:15 – 12:30 p.m. MT / 11:15 – 11:30 a.m. PT

Navigating Changes in the Municipal Bond Market
2:30 – 3:45 p.m. ET / 1:30 – 2:45 p.m. CT / 12:30 – 1:45 a.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. PT

There are many new options in the municipal bond market - including green bonds; climate bonds; sustainability bonds; and transition bonds - and you might be wondering which label you can or should use on your next bond transaction. Hear from a portfolio manager, an external reviewer, and a municipal advisor on the options, process, preferences, and required commitments from the issuer.

Chris Lover, CFA, Managing Director, Public Financial Management, Inc., Charlotte, North Carolina, and Monica Reid, CEO & Founder, Kestrel Verifiers, Hood River, Oregon

Virtual Pub Trivia
3:45 – 4:45 p.m. ET / 2:45 – 3:45 p.m. CT / 1:45 – 2:45 p.m. MT / 12:45 – 1:45 p.m. PT

Join us for Virtual Pub Trivia! Join a team of your public power colleagues to test your collective knowledge on general trivia covering a wide range of topics. From history to pop culture to public power and more, there’s something for everyone! Grab a drink and get ready for a fun-filled, fast-paced afternoon of trivia, camaraderie, and a chance to earn prizes.


Friday, April 23

Accounting in a Disruptive, Teleworking World
11 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. ET / 10 – 11:15 a.m. CT / 9 – 10:15 a.m. MT / 8 – 9:15 a.m. PT

Every accountant loves their spreadsheets and paper. The past year was a clear example of the need to go paperless – whether to better allow for staff working from home or minimize business interruptions amid crises. Get ideas for accounts payable workflow, learn how to automate some of your daily tasks, and review the controls that should be implemented to preserve the integrity of the data.

Leila Annen, Consulting Senior Manager, Moss Adams, LLP; Sallie Coleman, Senior VP & CFO, Electric Cities of Georgia, Atlanta, Georgia; and Keith Simovic, Assurance Senior Manager, Moss Adams, LLP

Break
12:15 – 12:30 p.m. ET / 11:15 – 11:30 a.m. CT / 10:15 – 10:30 p.m. MT / 9:15 – 9:30 a.m. PT

Rating Agencies: Our Outlook for Public Power
12:30 – 1:45 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. CT / 10:30 – 11:45 a.m. MT / 9:30 – 10:45 a.m. PT

Hear directly from the rating agencies on how they are analyzing public power and the electric utility industry. Discuss how the suite of economic and regulatory changes over the past year and technological advances expected in the future can affect your utility’s bond ratings.  

William Cox, Senior Managing Director, Kroll Bond Rating Agency, New York, New York, and Dennis M. Pidherny, Managing Director, Public Finance, Sector Head – U.S. Public Power, Fitch Ratings, New York, New York

Break
1:45 – 2:15 p.m. ET / 12:45 – 1:15 p.m. CT / 11:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. MT / 10:45 – 11:15 a.m. PT

Auditing Trends in a Paperless World
2:15 – 3:30 p.m. ET / 1:15 – 2:30 p.m. CT / 12:15 – 1:30 p.m. MT / 11:15 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PT

What you need to know to prepare for, conduct, and complete a remote or paperless audit. Learn about new tools and procedures for a conducting a paperless audit and helpful hints on what to expect and what’s different in a remote audit.

Connor Deeks, Senior Manager, PwC, Denver, Colorado; and Jon Steinberg, Senior Manager, PwC, Portland, Oregon

Break
3:30 – 3:40 p.m. ET / 2:30 – 2:40 p.m. CT / 1:30 – 1:40 p.m. MT / 12:30 – 12:40 p.m. PT

Closing Roundtable
3:40 – 4:30 p.m. ET / 2:40 – 3:30 p.m. CT / 1:40 – 2:30 p.m. MT / 12:40 – 1:30 p.m. PT

Share your experiences and ask questions of your fellow public power attendees about your biggest challenges in utility accounting and finance.

Roundtable discussions are limited to employees of public power utilities, state and regional associations, and joint action agencies.

Summit Adjourns
4:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. CT / 2:30 p.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. PT

Registration

Register now!

Registering five or more people? Scroll down for information about our Group Registration Discounts and contact [email protected] to save. The group discount will not be applied to online registrations. 

Registration Fees

Member

$475

Nonmember

$900

Not yet an American Public Power Association member? Join today and save $425 on your conference registration. Call 202-467-2944 or email [email protected] to learn more. 

Group Discounts

Save money on each registration for the Accounting & Finance Virtual Roundtable when your organization registers 5 or more people. The larger your group, the more you save!

Contact [email protected] for the group registration form. You must use the group registration form to receive this discount. The group discount will not be applied to online registrations. 

Number of registrants

Discount
(per person)

Member
Registration Fee
(per person)

Nonmember
Fee (per person)

1-4

n/a

$475

$900

5-10

$50

$425

$850

11-15

$100

$375

$800

16+

$150

$325

$750


Contact [email protected] for more information and to request the group registration form to receive this special discount.  

Cancellation, Refund, and Substitution Policy

Registrants who cancel in writing on or before Friday, April 16, 2021, are entitled to a refund of their registration fee, minus a $50 cancellation fee. Registrants who cancel after April 16 will not receive a refund, but attendee substitutions will be allowed for the 2021 Accounting & Finance Virtual Roundtable only. Registrants and no-shows who do not cancel on or before April 16 are responsible for the full registration fee and are not entitled to a refund of their registration fee. 

Requests must be made in writing to: [email protected].

Code of Conduct

Attendees of American Public Power Association meetings agree to abide by the APPA Code of Conduct. If attendees engage in unacceptable behavior as outlined in the Code of Conduct, the Association may take any action it deems appropriate, including, but not limited to, expulsion from the current and future meetings with no warning or refund.

Contact Us

Registration
[email protected]
Phone: 202-467-2941

Program/Content
[email protected]
202-467-2976

Billing
[email protected]
202-467-2967

Sponsorship
[email protected]
202-467-2903

Frequently Asked Questions

Due to the ongoing pandemic, APPA has decided to hold its annual Accounting & Finance Spring Roundtable in a virtual format in 2021. The decision to hold the conference virtually was made after careful consideration, which included surveying APPA members. The health and safety of APPA members and staff are of utmost importance. Member restrictions on travel, budgetary pressures, and the uncertainty of local restrictions on the size of crowd gatherings were also important considerations in the decision to hold the conference virtually. 

When will I get more information about how to participate in the virtual roundtable?

Registrants will receive information on how to join the virtual conference a few days before the event. If you have any questions, please reach out to [email protected].

What is a virtual event?

A virtual event simulates an in-person event, but involves people interacting online, rather than in a physical environment.

APPA is committed to delivering an engaging, accessible, and inclusive platform to convene the national public power community to connect, learn, and share knowledge and solutions. We are working quickly to develop an informative and engaging virtual experience, allowing participants to easily access important topics and sessions, and to connect with other participants for face-to-face conversations using video chats. Specifics regarding the new virtual experience will be shared in the coming weeks.

How was the registration fee for the Accounting & Finance Virtual Roundtable determined? 

The registration fee reflects the costs and value of the meeting being held. We took a number of details into consideration in calculating the fee for the virtual conference, including the cost of the virtual platform, program development, and the costs and risks associated with cancelling the in-person Accounting & Finance Spring Roundtable.

We also looked at the benefits of attending the meeting for members. The virtual conference features the same caliber of robust programming offered at our in-person events (which will be recorded so participants can view sessions again after the meeting), and most importantly an opportunity to connect with peers, learn from their experiences and come together in this unique time.

Can I earn educational credits for attending this virtual roundtable?

Yes, you can earn the following kinds of educational credits for participating in sessions during the virtual conference:

  • Continuing Education Units (CEUs) from the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)
  • Professional Development Hours (PDHs) as established by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES)
  • Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Credits from the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)

Please note that you will only be able to earn educational credits for the sessions you attend in real time during the virtual conference. We are not able to offer educational credits for any session recordings you watch later.

What platform will the virtual conference take place on?

APPA will use Zoom for the event.

What is the policy on refunds, cancellations and attendee substitutions?

Registrants who cancel in writing on or before Friday, April 16, 2021, are entitled to a refund of their registration fee, minus a $50 cancellation fee. Registrants who cancel after April 16 will not receive a refund, but attendee substitutions will be allowed for this event only. Registrants and no-shows who do not cancel by April 16 are responsible for the full registration fee and are not entitled to a refund. Cancellations must be made in writing and emailed to [email protected].

What is the APPA Code of Conduct for meeting attendees?

Attendees of American Public Power Association meetings agree to abide by the APPA Code of Conduct. If attendees engage in unacceptable behavior as outlined in the Code of Conduct, the Association may take any action it deems appropriate, including but not limited to, expulsion from the current and future meetings, with no warning or refund.

More questions?

Contact us at [email protected] or call 202-467-2976.