Powering Strong Communities
Press Release

Eighteen Individuals, Nine Utilities Win National Public Power Awards

San Diego, California, June 11, 2024 — Eighteen individuals and nine utilities were recognized for service to the American Public Power Association and the public power industry during APPA’s National Conference in San Diego, California. 

The individuals and utilities recognized at the ceremony were: 

Alex Radin Distinguished Service Award
This award is the highest award granted by the American Public Power Association. The award recognizes exceptional leadership and dedication to public power.

  • Colin Hansen, CEO & General Manager, KPP Energy

James D. Donovan Individual Achievement Award
This award recognizes people who have made substantial contributions to the electric utility industry, with a special commitment to public power. 

  • Jason Frisbie, General Manager/Chief Executive Officer, Platte River Power Authority
  • Mark S. Mitchell, Director of Operations and Chief Operating Officer, Southern Minnesota Municipal Power Agency
  • Tony Pochard, Director, Light & Power, Anderson Municipal Light and Power
  • Lynne Tejeda, General Manager and CEO, Keys Energy Services

Alan H. Richardson Statesmanship Award
This award recognizes public power leaders who work to achieve consensus on national issues important to public power utilities.

  • Kyle McClure, Government Relations Director, City Utilities of Springfield MO

Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award
This award recognizes managers of small utilities serving fewer than 2,500 meters. These managers have a very small staff and must assume multiple roles.

  • Jeff Amy, General Manager, Wells Public Utilities
  • Mark Barakian, General Manager, Boylston Municipal Light Department
  • Jonathan Mitchell, City Manager, City of Hoisington
  • Harold Pudliner Jr., Borough Manager/CEO, Weatherly Borough Electric
  • Kevin Strickler, Utilities Manager, Town of Williamsport

Harold Kramer-John Preston Personal Service Award 
This award recognizes individuals for their service to the American Public Power Association.

  • Jody Lamar Finklea, General Counsel and Chief Legal Officer, Florida Municipal Power Agency, and General and Regulatory Counsel, Florida Municipal Electric Association
  • Weijun Li, Engineering and Operations Manager, Braintree Electric Light Department

Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award
This award recognizes elected or appointed local officials who have contributed to the goals of the American Public Power Association.

  • Casey Anderson, Fairview City Council, Farview City
  • Stephanie Madden, City Commissioner, Lakeland Electric

Robert E. Roundtree Rising Star Award
This award is a scholarship presented to future leaders in public power. The recipient receives a stipend to travel to an APPA conference or training program to advance their education and development in public power.

  • Marc A Cain III, Power Plant Operator, City of Augusta Electric Utility

Mark Crisson Leadership and Managerial Excellence Award 
This award recognizes managers at a utility, joint action agency, or state or regional association who steer their organizations to new levels of excellence, lead by example, and inspire staff to do better.

  • Patrick Bowland, CEO and General Manager, Michigan Public Power Agency
  • Mark Kimbell, General Manager, Gallatin Department of Electricity

E.F. Scattergood System Achievement Award
This award honors American Public Power Association member systems with outstanding accomplishments.

  • City of Bowling Green, OH
  • Comanche Public Works Authority
  • Long Island Power Authority
  • Muscatine Power and Water

Sue Kelly Community Service Award
This award recognizes utilities for their "good neighbor" activities that demonstrate commitment to the local community.

  • Carthage Water & Electric Plant
  • Columbus Light and Water
  • Huntsville Utilities
  • JEA
  • Platte River Power Authority

Energy Innovator Award
APPA’s research program, Demonstration of Energy & Efficiency Developments (DEED), nurtures innovation in public power. Each year, the program recognizes innovative utility projects with this award.

  • CDE Lightband, Clarksville, Tennessee
  • EPB, Chattanooga, Tennessee
  • New York Power Authority, White Plains, New York