Powering Strong Communities
Press Release

American Public Power Association Names 2024-2025 Officers

Contact Tobias Sellier, Senior Director of Media Relations and Communications at [email protected] or 202-467-2927

Nicholas Lawler of Littleton Electric Light and Water as Chair

San Diego, California, June 12, 2024 – Nicholas Lawler, general manager of Littleton Electric Light and Water in Littleton, Massachusetts, was installed as chair of the American Public Power Association Board of Directors during APPA’s National Conference in San Diego, California.

John Haarlow, CEO and general manager of Snohomish County PUD in Everett, Washington, is chair-elect for 2024-2025. Michael Peters, president & CEO of WPPI Energy in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, is vice chair. David Osburn, general manager of Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority, is immediate past chair. Bret Carroll, CEO of Conway Corporation in Conway, Arkansas, is treasurer.   

Lawler chose five members of the board to serve with the officers on the APPA Executive Committee. They are: Daniel Beans, electric utility director of Roseville Electric Utility in Roseville, California; Thomas Kent, president and CEO of Nebraska Public Power District in Columbus, Nebraska; David Leathers, general manager of the Jamestown Board of Public Utilities in Jamestown, New York; Brian Solsbee, executive director of the Tennessee Municipal Electric Power Association in Brentwood, Tennessee; and Amy Zubaly, executive director of the Florida Municipal Electric Association in Tallahassee, Florida.  

Newly elected to the APPA board this year are: Katie Abraham, executive director of the Michigan Municipal Electric Association in Lansing, Michigan; Barry Tupper, general manager of the Holden Municipal Light Department in Holden, Massachusetts; and Lena Wittler, CEO/general manager of Clark Public Utilities in Vancouver, Washington.

Ten board members were re-elected to new three-year terms: Daniel Beans, electric utility director of Roseville Electric Utility in Roseville, California; David Carroll, CEO of Paducah Power System in Paducah, Kentucky; James Fuller, president and CEO of MEAG Power in Atlanta, Georgia; David Geschwind, executive director and CEO of the Southern Minnesota Municipal Power Agency in Rochester, Minnesota; Jonathan Hand, executive director of Electric Cities of Alabama in Montgomery, Alabama; Rosemary Henry, executive director of the Wyoming Municipal Power Agency in Lusk, Wyoming; Edward Krieger, power system director of the Piqua Power System in Piqua, Ohio; Paul Lau, CEO and general manager of SMUD in Sacramento, California; Paul Mahlberg, general manager of the Kansas Municipal Energy Agency in Overland Park, Kansas; and Jason McPherson, city administrator for the City of Marlow in Marlow, Oklahoma.

Finally, Lee Meyerhofer, commission president of Kaukauna Utilities in Kaukauna, Wisconsin, is the chair of APPA’s Policy Makers Council, and Mike Squires, managing director of government affairs for the Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems, in Salt Lake City, Utah, is the chair of APPA’s Advisory Committee. Meyerhofer and Squires join the board as ex officio members.  

APPA board members are chosen to represent 10 regions across the country.