Powering Strong Communities
Electricity Markets

LUS Director Jeffrey Stewart Named Chairman of Louisiana Energy and Power Authority Board

Jeffrey Stewart, Director of the Lafayette Utilities System in Louisiana, has been named the Chairman of the Louisiana Energy and Power Authority Board of Directors for 2024.

Stewart has been on the Board since 2016, and previously served as Secretary/Treasurer of the Board in 2022 and Vice Chairman in 2023.

“Jeff has been serving on the LEPA Board for more than 7 years and is always willing to share his experience and expertise with other LEPA municipalities. Lafayette, our largest member, has always been an integral part of the LEPA organization and we are happy to have Jeff lead the Board this year,” said LEPA General Manager Kevin Bihm.

Mayor Chuck Robichaux, of the City of Rayne, was installed as Vice-Chairman for 2024. He was elected as Secretary/Treasurer in 2023 and has previously held all positions of office on the LEPA Board of Directors.

Mayor Jason Willis, of the City of St. Martinville was elected as Secretary/Treasurer for 2024. 

The remaining LEPA Operating Committee members for 2024 include Mayor Buz Craft of Vidalia and Mayor Karl Arceneaux of Welsh.

LEPA is a joint-action agency based in Lafayette and is made up of 19 member municipalities, each owning their own municipal electrical systems. LEPA members include Abbeville, Alexandria, Erath, Gueydan, Houma, Jonesville, Kaplan, Lafayette, Minden, Morgan City, Natchitoches, New Roads, Plaquemine, Rayne, St. Martinville, Vidalia, Vinton, Welsh and Winnfield.

NEW Topics