Powering Strong Communities

Florida Municipal Electric Association Announces Winners of Safety Awards

The Florida Municipal Electric Association recently recognized excellence in Florida public power at an awards banquet where the winners of the FMEA Safety Awards were announced.

FMEA recognizes and rewards safe operations through its annual Safety Awards.

Utilities are placed into categories based on their total worker hours and rewarded for the most incident-free records.

The incidence rate used to judge utilities was based on the number of work-related reportable injuries or illnesses compared to the total number of worker hours during 2023, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

“We applaud each of these winners for creating safe working environments and cultivating a culture of safety so employees can safely and effectively get their jobs done,” said Amy Zubaly, FMEA Executive Director.

A total of 14 utilities received a Safety Award in their category, including:

Category A (0-59,999 man-hours):
City of Blountstown – Perfect Record
City of Chattahoochee – Perfect Record
City of Green Cove Springs – Perfect Record
Town of Havana – Perfect Record
City of Newberry – Perfect Record

Category B (60,000-199,999 man-hours):
New Smyrna Beach Utilities – Perfect Record
Fort Pierce Utilities Authority – 2nd place
Ocala Electric Utility –3rd place

Category C (200,000-399,999 man-hours):
Keys Energy Services – Special Recognition  

Category D (400,000-949,999 man-hours):
Gainesville Regional Utilities – 1st place
Kissimmee Utility Authority – 2nd place
Lakeland Electric – 3rd place

Category E (950,000-2,499,999 man-hours):
Orlando Utilities Commission – Special Recognition

Category F (2,500,000-greater man-hours):
JEA – Special Recognition

FMEA provides its members with government relations, mutual aid coordination, communications, education, and networking opportunities.   

NEW Topics