Powering Strong Communities
Electricity Markets

City of Abbeville, Town of Gueydan Select Louisiana Energy and Power Authority as Wholesale Electric Provider

The City of Abbeville and Town of Gueydan have both selected the Louisiana Energy and Power Authority as their wholesale electric provider, LEPA said in late January.

The agreements were recently adopted by the Board of Aldermen of both municipalities and by the LEPA Board of Directors at its meeting on January 18.

LEPA is now the wholesale electric provider for 11 municipalities in Louisiana. The other nine LEPA Full Requirements members include Jonesville, Morgan City, New Roads, Plaquemine, Rayne, St. Martinville, Vidalia, Welsh, and Winnfield.

“We were able to show the officials of both Abbeville and Gueydan that LEPA provides very competitive power rates to its Full Requirements Members, along with a host of other benefits,” said LEPA General Manager Kevin Bihm.

Shown after execution of the Full Requirements agreement are, from left, LEPA Vice Chairman Mayor Chuck Robichaux of Rayne, Mayor Mike Kloesel of Kaplan, Mayor Taylor Mencacci of Erath, Mayor Roslyn White of Abbeville, LEPA Chairman and LUS Director Jeffrey Stewart, Mayor Jude Reese of Gueydan, LEPA General Manager Kevin Bihm, and LEPA Assistant General Manager David Bergeron.

“Not only will this new contract provide Abbeville and Gueydan with competitive rates, but because LEPA is a non-profit organization, it will also provide additional savings to the other nine LEPA Full Requirements Members through the sharing of fixed costs,” he said. “This is evidence that LEPA is fulfilling its mission to provide member cities with firm, stable sources of electricity at the lowest possible cost.”

LEPA was created by the State Legislature in 1979 as the joint-action agency for the State of Louisiana.

LEPA’s current membership is comprised of 19 cities and towns that own their electric distribution systems.

Other Louisiana cities that are members of LEPA include Alexandria, Erath, Houma, Kaplan, Lafayette, Minden, Natchitoches, and Vinton.

NEW Topics