Board of Directors


Anthony CannonAnthony Cannon, Chair
General Manager/CEO, Greenville Utilities Commission, Greenville, North Carolina
Tony was appointed to the position of general manager/CEO of the Greenville Utilities Commission in 2012, after serving as Assistant General Manager/Chief Operating Officer since 2006. He has more than 30 years of experience in public utilities, joining Greenville Utilities from Greer Commission of Public Works in South Carolina. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and a Master’s degree in Organizational Management from Southern Wesleyan University. His experience includes management of electric, water, sewer and natural gas operations. Tony currently serves on the Executive Committee for the East Carolina University Educational Foundation. He also serves on the Board of Directors and is a past Chair of the Pitt-Greenville Chamber of Commerce and is past chair for the Pitt County Committee of 100. He is involved with numerous other professional and civic organizations.

David OsburnDavid Osburn, Chair-Elect
General Manager, Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority, Edmond, Oklahoma
David has served as the General Manager of the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA) since 2013. David started his employment at OMPA in 2007 as the Director of Operations. Before coming to OMPA, he served nine years as the General Manager and CEO of Richmond Power & Light in Richmond, Indiana. David currently serves on the Members Committee of the Southwest Power Pool, the Boards of the American Public Power Association, and the Transmission Access Policy Study Group. Since joining OMPA, the Authority has seen several changes and advancements, such as adding new member cities, implementation of complex energy markets, and generating plant additions. He received his Master of Business Administration degree from Indiana Wesleyan University and his Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.
Nick LawlerNicholas Lawler, Vice Chair
General Manager, Littleton Electric Light and Water Departments, Littleton, Massachusetts
Nick joined the Littleton Electric Light and Water Departments (LELWD) in 2001 as an electrical engineer and has served as the General Manager of LELWD since his appointment in August of 2018. As LELWD’s General Manager, Nick serves a five-member elected Board of Commissioners and is responsible for the strategic direction, administration, and overall management of LELWD. Nick earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Electrical Engineering from Villanova University and a Masters Degree in Business Administration from Bentley University, and he also holds a Professional Engineering license in the state of Massachusetts. Nick is the current President and serves on the Executive Committee of the Northeast Public Power Association (NEPPA), a non-profit trade association that was founded in 1965 to represent and serve consumer owned utilities in New England.

Layne BurninghamLayne Burningham, Treasurer
President and CEO, Utah Municipal Power Agency, Utah
Layne has been with UMPA for 24 years, with 21 years in management positions. Prior to his current position, Layne served as UMPA’s Chief Financial Officer & Power Resource Manager. His experience includes power plant operations, contract negotiation and administration, power marketing, open access transmission tariff proceedings at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, power plant operations, issuance of bonds and other obligations of UMPA, and administration of all UMPA financial and accounting functions. He is a member of the Colorado River Energy Distributors Association’s Board of Directors.

Colin HansenColin Hansen, Immediate Past-Chair
CEO/General Manager, Kansas Power Pool, Wichita, Kansas
Colin has worked in the public power industry for over 26 years. In February 2022, Colin joined the Kansas Power Pool. Prior to his current position, he served as Executive Director for Kansas Municipal Utilities (KMU), the statewide trade association representing and serving 185 communities across Kansas on electric, natural gas, water, wastewater & telecommunications issues. Under his guidance, KMU has grown nearly tenfold and recently opened the KMU Training Center to provide hands-on training to the next generation of municipal utility workers. Prior to joining KMU, Colin worked for the Iowa Association of Municipal Utilities in a number of capacities including Assistant Executive Director. Colin is a graduate of Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and Drake University with a Masters in Business Administration. He is a member of the Board of Directors for the Mid-West Electric Consumers Association.

Additional Executive Committee Members

Daniel Beans
Roseville Electric Utility, Roseville, California 
John Haarlow
Snohomish County PUD, Everett, Washington

Jonathan Hand
Electric Cities of Alabama, Montgomery, Alabama 

Thomas Kent
Nebraska Public Power District, Columbus, Nebraska 

Michael Peters
WPPI Energy, Sun Prairie, Wisconsin

Ex Officio

James Brooks, Chair, Policy Makers Council
City Council of Evansville, Wisconsin 
Nicki Fuller, Chair, Advisory Committee
Executive Director, Southwestern Power Resources Association, Oklahoma



Region 1: Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming

Laurie Mangum
City of St. George, Utah


Region 2: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin

Edward Krieger
Piqua Power System, Ohio

Michael Peters
WPPI Energy, Sun Prairie, Wisconsin

Tony Pochard
Anderson Municipal Light and Power, Indiana 

David Walters
Grand Haven Board of Light and Power, Michigan


Region 3: Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota

Chuck Bryant
Carthage Water and Electric Plant, Missouri

David Geschwind 
Southern Minnesota Municipal Power Agency

Thomas Kent
Nebraska Public Power District

Paul Mahlberg
Kansas Municipal Energy Agency

Russell Olson
Heartland Energy, South Dakota

Darrel Wenzel
Waverly Utilities, Iowa


Region 4: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas

Bret Carroll
Conway Corporation, Arkansas

Jason McPherson
City of Marlow, Oklahoma, Municipal Utility Authority

Gary Miller
Bryan Texas Utilities, Texas


Region 5: Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia

James Fuller
MEAG Power, Georgia 

Jason Grey 
Danville Utilities Department, Virginia 

Roy Jones
ElectriCities of North Carolina, Inc.

Joel Ledbetter
Easley Combined Utilities, South Carolina

Lynne Tejeda
Keys Energy Services, Florida


Region 6: Arizona, California, Nevada

Dan Beans
Roseville Electric Utility, California

Edward Gerak
Irrigation and Electrical Districts Association of Arizona

Paul Lau
SMUD, California 


Region 7: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee

David Carroll
Paducah Power System, Kentucky 

Jonathan Hand
Electric Cities of Alabama

Brian Solsbee 
Tennessee Municipal Electric Power Association


Region 8: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont

Thomas Falcone
Long Island Power Authority, New York

David Leathers
Jamestown Board of Public Utilities, New York


Region 9: Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington

John Haarlow
Snohomish County PUD, Washington

Debra Smith
Seattle City Light, Washington


Region 10: American Samoa, Guam, Marianas, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Beatrice Limtiaco
Guam Power Authority