Powering Strong Communities

Safety Award Winners

The American Public Power Association’s safety awards recognize utilities' incident rates and the overall state of their safety programs and culture. Groups are determined by worker-hours of exposure. 

One hundred forty-seven utilities have earned the Safety Award of Excellence for safe operating practices in 2023. Watch the video below for further details.

2023 Honorees

Group A (less than 15,000 worker-hours of exposure)

Colorado River Commission of Nevada
Columbus Utilities, WI
Evansville Water & Light, WI
Lewes Board of Public Works, DE
City of Marshall Electric Department, MI
Rice Lake Utilities, WI
Salem City Municipal Power & Light, UT
Shrewsbury Electric Light and Cable Operations, MA
Tullahoma Utilities Authority, TN
Village of Yellow Springs, OH
Waupun Utilities, WI

City of Carlyle, IL
Clintonville Utilities, WI
City of Red Bud, IL
City of Saint Peter, MN
Medford Electric Utility, WI
New London Utilities, WI

Group B (15,000 to 29,999 worker-hours of exposure)

City Utilities Richland Center, WI
Coon Rapids Municipal Utilities, IA
Hartford Utilities, WI
Lowell Light & Power, MI
Princeton Electric Plant Board, KY
City of Seaford Electric Dept, DE
City of Shelby, OH
St Clairsville Light & Power, OH
Town of Berlin, MD
Village of Versailles, OH
Waunakee Utilities, WI

Payson City Municipal Power & Light, UT
Princeton Public Utilities, MN
River Falls Municipal Utilities, WI
Sebewaing Light & Water Dept, MI
City of Shelby, NC
South Utah Valley Electric Service District
Sterling Municipal Light Dept, MA
Stoughton Utilities, WI

Group C (30,000 to 59,999 worker-hours of exposure)

City of Hillsdale, Board of Public Utilities, MI
Marshall Municipal Utilities, MN
Menasha Utilities, WI
Missouri River Energy Services, SD
Peru Utilities, IN
Tell City Electric Dept, IN
Town of Massena Electric Dept, NY
Two Rivers Utilities, WI
City of Wadsworth Electric Dept, OH
Waverly Utilities, IA
Willmar Municipal Utilities, MN
City of Winfield, KS

Coldwater Board of Public Utilities, MI
Garden City Electric Utility, KS
Hudson Public Power, OH
Lewisburg Electric System, TN
City of Lompoc, CA
Madisonville Municipal Utilities, KY
Mason County PUD #1, WA
Spanish Fork City Municipal Power & Light, UT
Spencer Municipal Utilities, IA
Springville City Municipal Power & Light, UT
Sun Prairie Utilities, WI
Wake Forest Power, NC

Group D (60,000 to 109,999 worker-hours of exposure)

City of Bentonville Electric Department, AR
Bountiful City Light & Power, UT
Bowling Green Municipal Utilities, KY
BVU Authority, VA
Clatskanie People’s Utility District, OR
Detroit Lakes Public Utilities, MN
City of Gastonia, NC
Hannibal Board of Public Works, MO
Kaukauna Utilities, WI
Kennett Board of Public Works, MO
City of Loveland, CO
Marshfield Utilities, WI
Merced Irrigation District, CA
Northern Wasco County PUD, OR
Ripley Power & Light Company, TN

ALP Utilities, MN
Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power, IN
Grand Haven Board of Light & Power, MI
Harrisonburg Electric Commission, VA
Henderson Municipal Power & Light, KY
City of Mesa Energy Resources Dept, AZ
Nebraska City Utilities
Orrville Utilities, OH
Owatonna Public Utilities, MN
City of Rock Hill, SC
Southern Minnesota Municipal Power Agency
Village of Winnetka, IL

Group E (110,000 to 249,999 worker-hours of exposure)

Clinton Utilities Board, TN
City of College Station, TX
City of Columbus Division of Power, OH
City of Concord, NC
Conway Corp, AR
City of Georgetown Electric Dept, TX
Holland Board of Public Works, MI
Kerrville Public Utility Board, TX
Keys Energy Services, FL
Loup Power District, NE
Marshall Municipal Utilities, MO
Morristown Utilities, TN
City of New Bern, NC
New Smyrna Beach Utilities, FL
Paducah Power Systems, KY
City of St George Energy Services, UT
Stillwater Electric Utility, OK
Wilson Energy, NC

Carthage Water and Electric Plant, MO
City of Fremont, NE
Jamestown Board of Public Facilities, NY
Manitowoc Public Utilities, WI
Rochester Public Utilities, MN
SMTX Utilities, TX
Tillamook PUD, OR

Group F (250,000 to 999,999 worker-hours of exposure)

American Municipal Power, Inc., OH
Anaheim Public Utilities, CA
Bryan Texas Utilities
CDE Lightband, TN
City Utilities of Springfield, MO
Clark Public Utilities, WA
Fayetteville Public Works Commission, NC
Gainesville Regional Utilities, FL
Kissimmee Utility Authority, FL
Mason PUD #3, WA
Muscatine Power & Water, IA
Riviera Utilities, AL
City of Springfield, City Water, Light & Power, IL

Clallam County PUD #1, WA
Cowlitz PUD, WA
Greenville Utilities Commission, NC
Independence Power & Light, MO
Lafayette Utilities Systems, LA
Roseville Electric, CA
Southwestern Power Administration, OK

Group G (1,000,000 to 3,999,999 worker-hours of exposure)

Energy Northwest, WA
Huntsville Utilities, AL
Nebraska Public Power District
New York Power Authority
Omaha Public Power District, NE
Santee Cooper, SC
Tacoma Power, WA

Chelan County PUD, WA
Guam Power Authority
Memphis Light, Gas & Water, TN

Group H (more than 3,999,999 worker-hours of exposure)

CPS Energy, TX
Los Angeles Department of Water & Power, CA
Sacramento Municipal Utility District, CA