2008 Public Power Lineworkers Rodeo Presentations

APPA’s annual Public Power Lineworkers’ Rodeo is held in conjunction with APPA’s annual Engineering and Operations Technical Conference.

The rodeo features two levels of competition: journeyman and apprentice. Each journeyman team has two climbers and a ground person, and sometimes an alternate. A journeyman lineworker has more than four years of experience, while an apprentice lineworker has four years or fewer.

The journeymen compete in five timed events: 600-amp switch-out; cross arm change-out, hurt man rescue, alley arm change-out; and cut-out change-out. Apprentices take a written test and compete in four events. Events are judged based on safety, work practices, neatness, ability, equipment handling, and timely event completion. All safety rules established by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration and the APPA Safety Manual are observed during events.


First place overall in the journeyman events went to Team 139 from the North Carolina Association of Municipal Electric Systems. From left are: Jody Kiser, Mike Harper, Keith Gaskins (and a young admirer), and Mark Howery. With them, at far right, is rodeo Journeyman Master Judge Jon Beasley of MEAG Power in Georgia. Photo by Jeannine Anderson

Rodeo Video Order Form

View a video clip from the rodeo (.wmv)

View award photos.

Top 10 Results for Journeyman Teams 

Top 10 Results for Apprentice

Top 10 Results by Event (The individual Team/Apprentice scores will be email to each utility within the next few weeks. Should you have any questions please contact Alejandra Franco at 202.467.2922.)

Sixty-two journeyman lineworker teams and 70 apprentices competed in the 2008 Public Power Lineworkers’ Rodeo, which took place Friday and Saturday on the grounds of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Winners in the “Overall” category of the apprentice events are:

  • First Place: Chris Rich of the Jackson Energy Authority, Jackson, Tenn.
  • Second Place: Darren Briscoe, Gainesville Regional Utilities, Florida.
  • Third Place: Branden Carter, Sacramento Municipal Utility District, California.
  • Fourth Place: Josh Klikna, Turlock Irrigation District, California.
  • Fifth Place: Marz Basulto, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power.

Winners in the “Overall” category of the journeyman events are:

  • First Place: North Carolina Association of Municipal Electric Systems, Team 139: Jody Kiser, Keith Gaskins, Mike Harper and Mark Howery.
  • Second Place: Sacramento Municipal Utility District, Team 148: Todd Prangley, Lucas Raley and Mark Raley.
  • Third Place: Nashville Electric Service, Tennessee, Team 152: Tommy Barksdale, Brad Sanford, Steven Stubblefield and Lance Southworth.
  • Fourth Place: Naperville, Ill., Team 103: Vince Bartlett, Ivan Wescott, Shaun Roam and Doug Newberry.
  • Fifth Place: Marietta, Ga., Team 106: Nick Sawyer, Barry Dillard and Trinity Broome.
From right, apprentice winners of the overall competition are: Chris Rich of Jackson, Tenn.; Darren Briscoe of Gainesville, Fla.; Branden Carter, SMUD; Josh Klikna, Turlock Irrigation District; and Marz Basulto, LADWP. With them, at far left, is rodeo Apprentice Master Judge Scott King of Austin Energy in Texas. Photo by Jeannine Anderson