Community Engagement
Press Release

Nineteen individuals, nine utilities win national public power awards

New Orleans, La., June 19, 2018 — Nineteen individuals and nine utilities were recognized for service to the American Public Power Association and the public power industry during an awards ceremony at the Association’s National Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The individuals and utilities recognized at the ceremony were:

Alex Radin Distinguished Service Award

This award is the highest award granted by the American Public Power Association. The award recognizes exceptional leadership and dedication to public power.

  • Douglas Hunter, CEO and General Manager, Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems, Salt Lake City, Utah

James D. Donovan Individual Achievement Award

This award recognizes people who have made substantial contributions to the electric utility industry, with a special commitment to public power.

  • Frederick Bryant, General Counsel Emeritus, Florida Municipal Power Agency, Orlando, Florida
  • Duncan Kincheloe, President, General Manager, and CEO, Missouri Public Utility Alliance, Columbia, Missouri
  • Mark Reddemann, Former CEO, Energy Northwest, Richland, Washington
  • Walter “Wally” Schlink, Director of Power Resources and Customer Relations, Rochester Public Utilities, Rochester, Minnesota

Alan H. Richardson Statesmanship Award

This award recognizes public power leaders who work to achieve consensus on national issues important to public power utilities.

  • Ted Rampton, Chief Government Affairs Officer, Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems, Salt Lake City, Utah

Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award

This award recognizes managers of small utilities serving fewer than 2,500 meters. These managers have a very small staff and must assume multiple roles.

  • Tom Kane, Public Works Director, Hawarden Municipal Utilities, Hawarden, Iowa
  • Bernard “Pudder” Linne, Operations Manager, Troy Utilities, Troy, Indiana
  • Bruce A. Metz, Village Administrator, Jackson Center Municipal Electric System, Jackson Center, Ohio
  • Merl Page, City Manager, City of Wamego, Wamego, Kansas
  • Patrick Weber, Utility Manager, Eagle River Light and Water, Eagle River, Wisconsin

Harold Kramer-John Preston Personal Service Award

This award recognizes individuals for their service to the American Public Power Association.

  • Jane Cirrincione, Assistant General Manager, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Northern California Power Agency, Roseville, California
  • Chris Gent, Vice President of Corporate Communications, Kissimmee Utility Authority, Kissimmee, Florida
  • Amy Zubaly, Executive Director, Florida Municipal Electric Association, Tallahassee, Florida

Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award

This award recognizes elected or appointed local officials who have contributed to the goals of the American Public Power Association.

  • Patrick Kolstad, Councilman, City of Santa Clara, Santa Clara, California
  • Michael A. Perri, Jr., Board Member, Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, Fort Pierce, Florida

Robert E. Roundtree Rising Star Award

This award is a scholarship presented to future leaders in public power. The recipient receives a stipend to travel to an Association conference or training program to advance their education and development in public power.

  • David Hubbard, Supply Manager, New Braunfels Utilities, New Braunfels, Texas

Mark Crisson Leadership and Managerial Excellence Award

This award recognizes managers at a utility, joint action agency, or state or regional association who steer their organizations to new levels of excellence, lead by example, and inspire staff to do better.

  • James C. Moynihan, General Manager, North Attleborough Electric Department, North Attleborough, Massachusetts
  • Dolores Slatcher, Retired City Manager, a DEMEC Member, City of Seaford, Seaford, Delaware

E.F. Scattergood System Achievement Award

This award honors American Public Power Association member systems with outstanding accomplishments.

  • Burlington Electric Department, Burlington, Vermont
  • Emerald People’s Utility District, Eugene, Oregon
  • Sterling Municipal Light Department, Sterling, Massachusetts

Community Service Award

This award recognizes utilities for their "good neighbor" activities that demonstrate commitment to the local community.

  • American Samoa Power Authority, Pago Pago, American Samoa
  • New Braunfels Utilities, New Braunfels, Texas
  • SMUD, Sacramento, California

Energy Innovator Award

The Association’s research program, Demonstration of Energy & Efficiency Developments (DEED), nurtures innovation in public power. Each year, the program recognizes innovative utility projects with this award.

  • Braintree Electric Light Department, Braintree, Massachusetts
  • CPS Energy, San Antonio, Texas
  • New York Power Authority, White Plains, New York