Community Engagement
Press Release

American Public Power Association Names 2020-2021 Officers

Jolene Thompson of American Municipal Power Installed as Chair

June 9, 2020 – Jolene Thompson, president and CEO of American Municipal Power, Inc. in Columbus, Ohio, was installed as chair of the American Public Power Association Board of Directors during APPA’s Public Power Connect: Virtual Summit & Business Meeting.

Colin Hansen, executive director of Kansas Municipal Utilities in McPherson, Kansas, is chair-elect for 2020-2021. Anthony Cannon, general manager and CEO of Greenville Utilities Commission in Greenville, North Carolina, is vice chair. Decosta Jenkins, president and CEO of Nashville Electric Service in Nashville, Tennessee, is immediate past chair. Layne Burningham, chief operating officer and general manager of Utah Municipal Power Agency in Spanish Fork, Utah, is treasurer.

Thompson chose five members of the board to serve with the officers on the APPA Executive Committee. They are: Timothy Burke, president and CEO of Omaha Public Power District in Omaha, Nebraska; Nicholas Lawler, general manager of Littleton Electric Light and Water Departments in Littleton, Massachusetts; David Osburn, general manager of Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority in Edmond, Oklahoma; Kimberly Schlichting, chief operating officer and senior vice president of power supply of Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation, Inc. in Smyrna, Delaware; and Stephen Wright, general manager of Chelan County PUD in Wenatchee, Washington.

Newly elected to the APPA board this year are: Chuck Bryant, general manager of Carthage Water & Electric Plant in Carthage, Missouri; Bret Carroll, CEO of Conway Corporation in Conway, Arkansas; Edward Gerak, executive director of Arizona Power Authority in Phoenix, Arizona; Edward Krieger, power system director of Piqua Power System in Piqua, Ohio; David Leathers, general manager of Jamestown Board of Public Utilities in Jamestown, New York; Gary Miller, general manager of Bryan Texas Utilities in Bryan, Texas; Lynne Tejeda, general manager and CEO of Keys Energy Services in Key West, Florida; and David Walters, general manager of Grand Haven Board of Light & Power in Grand Haven, Michigan.

Two board members were re-elected to new three-year terms: Joel Ledbetter, general manager of Easley Combined Utilities in Easley, South Carolina; and Stephen Wright, general manager of Public Utility District No. 1 of Chelan County in Wenatchee, Washington.

APPA board members are chosen to represent 10 regions across the country.