Press Release

113 Utilities Awarded for Outstanding Safety Practices

Washington D.C., April 1, 2019 One hundred thirteen utilities have earned the American Public Power Association’s Safety Award of Excellence for safe operating practices in 2018. Keith Cutshall, Chair of the Association’s Safety Committee and Safety Director at Clarksville Department of Electricity in Tennessee, presented the award during the Association’s annual Engineering & Operations Technical Conference, held in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

“Safety programs are paramount to the well-being of employees that work for electric utilities,” said Cutshall. “The utilities receiving this award have proven that safety is of the utmost importance in the operation of their companies.”

Three hundred twenty-five utilities entered the annual Safety Awards, which is the highest number of entrants in the history of the program. Entrants were placed in categories according to their number of worker hours and ranked based on the most incident-free records during 2018. The incidence rate, used to judge entries, is based on the number of work-related reportable injuries or illnesses and the number of worker-hours during 2018, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

The Safety Awards have been held annually for the last 60 years. A complete list of winners is available at