Electricity Markets

Trump designates Chatterjee to serve as FERC chairman

President Donald Trump on Oct. 24 announced the designation of Commissioner Neil Chatterjee as the chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, taking over from Kevin McIntyre, who will remain a FERC Commissioner. 

In an Oct. 22 letter to Trump, McIntyre noted that in the summer of 2017 he was diagnosed with a brain tumor and, more recently, experienced a more serious health setback, “leaving me currently unable to perform the duties of chairman with the level of focus that the position demands and that FERC and the American people deserve.”

He therefore proposed to step aside from the position of chairman and its additional duties “so that I can commit myself fully to my work as Commissioner, while undergoing the treatment necessary to address my health issues.”

McIntyre’s fellow FERC Commissioners issued statements with respect to McIntyre’s health issues and his stepping aside as FERC chairman.

In August 2017, Trump named Chatterjee to be FERC's chairman until the Senate confirmed McIntyre to the Commission. The Senate confirmed the nomination of McIntyre as a FERC commissioner in late 2017.

Trump recently unveiled plans to nominate DOE official for FERC Commissioner

Trump on Oct. 3 announced his intent to nominate Bernard McNamee to be a member of FERC for a term that would expire June 30, 2020. McNamee is currently the Executive Director of the Office of Policy for the U.S. Department of Energy. 

McNamee would fill the seat on the Commission vacated by Robert Powelson, a Republican, who left the Commission in August to become President and CEO of the National Association of Water Companies. 

The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee has scheduled a hearing for Nov. 15 to consider several nominations including McNamee’s.