Electricity Markets

Senate panel votes to approve nominee for open FERC seat

The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee on Nov. 27 voted to approve the nomination of Bernard McNamee to be a member of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission for a term that would expire June 30, 2020. 

The 13-10 voice vote was along party lines, other than Sen. Joe Manchin, D-West Virginia, who voted in support of McNamee.

President Trump on Oct. 3 announced his intent to nominate McNamee to be a member of FERC. McNamee is currently the Executive Director of the Office of Policy for the U.S. Department of Energy. 

McNamee would fill the seat on the Commission vacated by Robert Powelson, a Republican, who left the Commission in August to become President and CEO of the National Association of Water Companies. 

McNamee’s nomination still requires confirmation by the Senate.