Electricity Markets

Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee advances FERC nominees

The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee on Nov. 18 favorably reported the nomination of Allison Clements and Mark Christie to be members of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

The committee held a hearing to consider the nominees on Sept. 16. The committee approved both nominees by a voice vote.

The nominees now await further consideration by the full Senate. Should they be approved by the Senate before the end of the year, Clements, a Democrat, would serve a term expiring June 30, 2024, while Christie, a Republican, would serve a term expiring June 30, 2025.

In other recent FERC-related news, President Donald Trump on Nov. 5 named James Danly as Chairman of FERC. He will replace Neil Chatterjee as head of the agency.

Danly has served as a Commissioner since March 2020. Prior to that he served as general counsel to the Commission since joining FERC in 2017.

Chatterjee, who joined the Commission in 2017 and served as Chairman from August to December 2017 and since October 2018, congratulated Danly on his appointment and said the Commission will be well-served by Danly’s leadership.

Chatterjee will remain a FERC Commissioner, along with Commissioner Richard Glick.