Community Engagement

Public power leadership changes and accomplishments

Brad Sawatzke named CEO of Energy Northwest 

Energy Northwest’s executive board named Brad Sawatzke as the agency’s chief executive officer. Sawatzke has been acting as interim CEO since the departure of Mark Reddemann on March 30. Prior to the appointment, Sawatzke served as the agency’s chief operating officer and chief nuclear officer. Before joining Energy Northwest in 2010, Sawatzke was the director of site operations at the Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant, operated by Xcel Energy. He worked for Xcel Energy for nearly 29 years. The board also appointed Grover Hettel as chief nuclear officer. Hettel previously served as vice president for Operations. Replacing Hettel as Operations vice president is Bob Schuetz, who will also continue in his role as Columbia Generating Station’s plant general manager pending selection of a new plant manager. In an organizational change, the Energy Northwest executive board moved the agency’s hydro, wind and solar operations, as well as new development and energy business services, under the leadership of Brent Ridge, who continues as vice president for Corporate Services.

AMP Promotes Jared Price to VP of Information Technology/Chief Technology Officer

American Municipal Power Inc. said that Jared Price has been promoted to vice president of information technology/CTO. Price joined AMP in 2011 as IT director and has since taken on roles with increasing responsibility. As vice president of information technology/CTO, he is responsible for oversight of SCADA and plant systems, assisting with AMP’s Advanced Metering Program and helping to refine the overall IT strategy of the organization. Price will continue to report to Branndon Kelley, chief information officer.

CPS Energy’s Cris Eugster to chair SEPA Board

Cris Eugster, Chief Operating Officer of CPS Energy, will be the new chair of the Smart Electric Power Alliance’s board of directors as a result of recent officer elections for SEPA’s board. He will serve for a one-year term. “CPS Energy is at the forefront of clean energy initiatives, and I look forward to sharing our experiences in working with my colleagues on the SEPA Board and its leadership in the coming year,” Eugster said. “Together, we will work toward bringing innovation to the development of a clean energy future.” In other election results, Joe Hoagland, Vice President, Stakeholder Relations at the Tennessee Valley Authority, has been elected to the at-large seat on the Executive Committee.

Blue Ridge Power Agency board recognizes Tim Taylor for 15 years of service

The Board of Directors of the Blue Ridge Power Agency recognized Tim Taylor for his 15 years of service as the Board President. Taylor has served as a board member since the Agency was founded in 1988. On January 1, 2002, he stepped into the role of President, where he continued until June 30, 2017. During his tenure, he led the Agency through the replacement of long-term power supply contracts and oversaw collaboration with other consumer-owned utilities and organizations within Virginia and across the nation.