Powering Strong Communities

Phillips Sworn In As FERC Commissioner

Willie Phillips on Dec. 3 was sworn in as a member of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) for a five-year term that ends June 30, 2026. 

Phillips was nominated to FERC by President Biden in September 2021 and confirmed by the Senate on November 16, 2021. 

Phillips, a Democrat, returns FERC to its full complement of five commissioners, and he provides the Democrats with a 3-2 majority. 

Before joining FERC, Phillips was the Chairman of the District of Columbia Public Service Commission.  He previously worked as Assistant General Counsel for the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), and also worked for two law firms.