AMP's Thompson, Sullivan promoted to executive VP

Jolene Thompson was recently named executive vice president of member services and external affairs at AMP, while Pam Sullivan was named executive vice president of power supply and generation. In her expanded role, Thompson will provide oversight to government relations, technical services, environmental affairs, business operations, human resources and member programs. This includes leading the organization's environmental, safety and North American Electric Reliability Corporation compliance activities, legislative and regulatory affairs, human resources and talent management, media and public relations, energy efficiency and sustainability, training, engineering services, facilities oversight and business development.

Thompson has been with AMP since 1990 and worked in various roles, including as head of the launch of the $26-million Efficiency Smart program for AMP members. Thompson is active nationally and currently serves on the American Public Power Association's Board of Directors. She is a recipient of APPA's Harold Kramer-John Preston Personal Service Award. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from Otterbein University.

In her expanded role, Sullivan will provide oversight to power supply and marketing services, generation operations, and transmission. This includes leading the company's energy trading floor, commodity procurement, power supply planning, transmission planning, regional transmission organization affairs, generation development, energy marketing, as well as marketing AMP's various power supply projects and programs to its 132 member communities. Since joining the organization in 2003, Sullivan has been a key player in the development of the generation projects currently underway at AMP. Before joining AMP, Sullivan was vice president of marketing for SFT, a consulting engineering firm. She also served as city electrical engineer for the AMP member community of Napoleon, Ohio. Sullivan holds a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from the University of Toledo.

AMP also announced that Senior Vice President and General Counsel, John W. Bentine is retiring, effective January 2017.

Idaho Falls Power's Flowers elected as chair of UAMPS board

Jackie Flowers, general manager of Idaho Falls Power, was elected chair of the board of directors of the Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems at the recent 2015 UAMPS Member Meeting in Salt Lake City. Flowers is the first woman to be elected chair of the UAMPS Board of Directors. Mike Lehto, president of the Idaho Falls City Council, was also honored as Champion of Public Power at the same meeting.

As the general manager of Idaho Falls Power, Flowers currently manages a staff of 68 employees and a $70 million budget. Flowers is a registered professional engineer with a background in civil engineering and more than 20 years of experience, 13 of which she spent managing publicly-owned utilities. Flowers, who has served on the UAMPS board for a number of years, most recently has chaired two key committees, including the Carbon Free Power Project Committee. The committee is investigating the viability of developing a small modular nuclear reactor project.

The Champion of Public Power Award recognizes an appointed official of a member city or utility who has provided many years of exceptional service to municipal public power, demonstrating vision and unusual devotion in the performance of their duties. Lehto was nominated to the American Public Power Association's Policy Makers Council in 2005, and served as chair of the council. He was also awarded the Spencer Vanderlinden Public Official Award in 2011.

OPPD appoints Kate Brown vice president of information technology

The Omaha Public Power District recently appointed Kate Brown as vice president of information technology. She began work at OPPD Jan. 5, 2016, and she brings more than 17 years of technology experience to the district. Her experience includes work in a broad array of industries such as Oriental Trading Company, Best Buy, and, most recently, Warren Distribution. Previously, she was the company's Director of Information Systems. Ms. Brown earned her undergraduate degree from the University of Wisconsin. She has a master's degree in Management Information Systems from Bellevue University, as well as a master's degree in Business Administration with an emphasis in Human Capital Management from Bellevue University.

Richard Howorth sworn in for second term on TVA board

Richard Howorth was sworn in Wednesday, December 16 to serve a five-year term on the TVA board of directors. Howorth was nominated for a second term by President Obama and confirmed unanimously by the U.S. Senate. His brother, the Honorable Andrew K. Howorth, circuit court judge of the Third Circuit Court District in Mississippi, swore him in at the Lafayette County Courthouse. Director Howorth lives in Oxford, Miss., where he served two terms as mayor of Oxford from 2001 to 2009. During his tenure as mayor, he was chairman of the authority overseeing the Oxford Electric Department. He served eight years as a director and officer of the North Mississippi Industrial Development Association, an economic development consortium comprised of utility directors and mayors of cities in 29 counties in the TVA service territory. Howorth graduated from the University of Mississippi. His term expires May 18, 2020.