Electricity Markets

LaFleur will not seek a third term as a FERC Commissioner

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission member Cheryl LaFleur on Jan. 31 announced that she was no longer seeking a third term at FERC and will be leaving the Commission later this year.

LaFleur said in a statement that she plans to stay at FERC at least through the end of her term on June 30, “and probably longer, depending on my future plans and the possible appointment of a successor.”

LaFleur was first nominated by President Barack Obama to FERC in 2010 and was confirmed for a second term by the Senate in 2014. She served as Acting Chairman of the Commission from November 2013 to July 2014 and January to August 2017, and as Chairman from July 2014 until April 2015.  

Along with LaFleur, FERC’s current set of Commissioners include Chairman Neil Chatterjee and Commissioners Richard Glick and Bernard McNamee. Commissioner Kevin McIntyre recently passed away, so there is a vacant Commission seat that needs to be filled.

McNamee filled the seat on the Commission vacated by Robert Powelson, a Republican, who left the Commission in August to become President and CEO of the National Association of Water Companies.