Community Engagement

Individuals, utilities earn national public power awards

Nineteen individuals and nine utilities were recognized for service to the American Public Power Association and the public power industry during an awards ceremony at the Association’s National Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana, on June 19.

The individuals and utilities recognized at the ceremony were:

Alex Radin Distinguished Service Award (This award is the highest award granted by the Association and recognizes exceptional leadership and dedication to public power).

The winner of this award was Douglas Hunter, CEO and General Manager, Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems, Salt Lake City, Utah.

James D. Donovan Individual Achievement Award (This award recognizes people who have made substantial contributions to the electric utility industry, with a special commitment to public power).

Winners of this award were:

  • Frederick Bryant, General Counsel Emeritus, Florida Municipal Power Agency, Orlando, Florida;
  • Duncan Kincheloe, President, General Manager, and CEO, Missouri Public Utility Alliance, Columbia, Missouri;
  • Mark Reddemann, Former CEO, Energy Northwest, Richland, Washington; and
  • Walter “Wally” Schlink, Director of Power Resources and Customer Relations, Rochester Public Utilities, Rochester, Minnesota.

Alan H. Richardson Statesmanship Award (This award recognizes public power leaders who work to achieve consensus on national issues important to public power utilities).

The winner of this award was Ted Rampton, Chief Government Affairs Officer, Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems, Salt Lake City, Utah.

Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award (This award recognizes managers of small utilities serving fewer than 2,500 meters. These managers have a very small staff and must assume multiple roles).

Winners in this category are:

  • Tom Kane, Public Works Director, Hawarden Municipal Utilities, Hawarden, Iowa;
  • Bernard “Pudder” Linne, Operations Manager, Troy Utilities, Troy, Indiana;
  • Bruce A. Metz, Village Administrator, Jackson Center Municipal Electric System, Jackson Center, Ohio;
  • Merl Page, City Manager, City of Wamego, Wamego, Kansas;
  • Patrick Weber, Utility Manager, Eagle River Light and Water, Eagle River, Wisconsin.

Harold Kramer-John Preston Personal Service Award (This award recognizes individuals for their service to the Association).

Recipients of this award were:

  • Jane Cirrincione, Assistant General Manager, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Northern California Power Agency, Roseville, California;
  • Chris Gent, Vice President of Corporate Communications, Kissimmee Utility Authority, Kissimmee, Florida; and
  • Amy Zubaly, Executive Director, Florida Municipal Electric Association, Tallahassee, Florida.

Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award (This award recognizes elected or appointed local officials who have contributed to the goals of the Association).

Winners in this category were Patrick Kolstad, Councilman, City of Santa Clara, Santa Clara, California and Michael A. Perri, Jr., Board Member, Fort Pierce Utilities Authority, Fort Pierce, Florida.

Robert E. Roundtree Rising Star Award (This award is a scholarship presented to future leaders in public power. The recipient receives a stipend to travel to an Association conference or training program to advance their education and development in public power).

David Hubbard, Supply Manager at New Braunfels Utilities in New Braunfels, Texas, was the recipient of this award.

Mark Crisson Leadership and Managerial Excellence Award (This award recognizes managers at a utility, joint action agency, or state or regional association who steer their organizations to new levels of excellence, lead by example, and inspire staff to do better).

James C. Moynihan, General Manager of North Attleborough Electric Department in North Attleborough, Massachusetts, and Dolores Slatcher, retired city manager, a DEMEC Member, City of Seaford, Seaford, Delaware, were this year’s award recipients.

E.F. Scattergood System Achievement Award (This award honors Association member systems with outstanding accomplishments).

The following three public power utilities were recognized: Burlington Electric Department, Burlington, Vermont; Emerald People’s Utility District, Eugene, Oregon; and Sterling Municipal Light Department, Sterling, Massachusetts.

Community Service Award (This award recognizes utilities for their "good neighbor" activities that demonstrate commitment to the local community).

American Samoa Power Authority (Pago Pago, American Samoa); New Braunfels Utilities (New Braunfels, Texas) and SMUD (Sacramento, California) were award recipients.

Energy Innovator Award

The Association’s research program, Demonstration of Energy & Efficiency Developments (DEED), nurtures innovation in public power. Each year, the program recognizes innovative utility projects with this award.

The following public power utilities received Energy Innovator Awards: Braintree Electric Light Department, Braintree, Massachusetts; CPS Energy, San Antonio, Texas; and New York Power Authority, White Plains, New York.

Details on last year’s award winners are available here.