Powering Strong Communities

CPS Energy’s Paula Gold-Williams Named As New Member Of Secretary of Energy’s Advisory Board

Paula Gold-Williams, President and CEO of San Antonio, Texas-based CPS Energy, has been named as a new member of the Secretary of Energy’s Advisory Board (SEAB).

The members of the SEAB are appointed for a two-year term and represent academic institutions, nuclear security experts, labor unions, utility companies, energy equipment manufacturers, low-income consumers, and non-governmental organizations.

The SEAB meets quarterly to advise the Secretary of Energy on how best to achieve the priorities of the Department of Energy, help identify emerging issues related to the DOE’s activities, and offer suggestions for improvements to its operation. For the first time ever, the SEAB is majority women. 

“I am honored to be appointed to the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board and extremely humbled to join my esteemed colleagues,” said Gold-Williams. “I am looking forward to working with them and to providing input on how best to achieve the Department of Energy priorities,” she said.

“As a leader of a municipally owned utility, this opportunity also allows me to further share the perspectives of public power providers and the communities they passionately serve. I want to thank Secretary Granholm and Dr. Arun Majumdar for their confidence in me and for allowing me the opportunity to make a real impact on our nation as our broad industry makes significant progress in transitioning to a clean energy future,” Gold-Williams said.

Majumdar, who previously served on the SEAB from May 2014 to January 2017 and was the first Director of the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy, will serve as Chair. Madelyn Creedon, who previously served as Principal Deputy Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration, will serve as Vice-Chair.  

The terms of the appointed members of the SEAB expire on August 30, 2023.

A list of the other SEAB members is available here.