Community Engagement

Coleman Smoak installed as new Association board chair; officers named

Coleman Smoak, general manager of Piedmont Municipal Power Agency in Greer, South Carolina, was installed as chair of the American Public Power Association Board of Directors on June 20 at the Association’s National Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Decosta Jenkins, president and CEO of Nashville Electric Service in Nashville, Tennessee, is chair-elect for 2018-2019, while Jolene Thompson, executive vice president of member services and external affairs for American Municipal Power (AMP) and executive director of the Ohio Municipal Electric Association in Columbus, Ohio, is vice chair. 

Walter Haase, general manager of Navajo Tribal Utility Authority in Fort Defiance, Arizona, is immediate past chair. Layne Burningham, COO and General Manager of Utah Municipal Power Agency in Spanish Fork, Utah, is treasurer.

Smoak chose five members of the board to serve with the officers on the Association’s Executive Committee. They are:

  • Tim Burke, president and CEO of Omaha Public Power District, in Omaha, Nebraska;
  • Tony Cannon, general manager and CEO of Greenville Utilities Commission, in Greenville, North Carolina;
  • Leslie James, executive director of the Colorado River Energy Distributors Association, in Phoenix, Arizona;
  • Andrew McMahon, superintendent of the Town of Massena, in New York; and
  • Ron Skagen, commissioner of the Douglas County Public Utility District, in East Wenatchee, Washington.

Newly elected to the Association board this year are:

  • Mark Chesney, general manager and CEO of Kansas Power Pool in Wichita, Kansas;
  • Todd Gale, general manager of Columbus Light and Water in Mississippi;
  • David Osburn, general manager of Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority in Edmond, Oklahoma;
  • Laurie Mangum, energy director for the City of St. George in Utah; Darrel Wenzel, general manager and CEO of Waverly Utilities in Iowa; and
  • David Wright, general manager of Los Angeles Department of Water and Power in California.

Five board members were re-elected to new three-year terms:

  • Fred Clark, Jr., president and CEO of Alabama Municipal Electric Authority in Montgomery, Alabama;
  • David Koster, general manager of Holland Board of Public Works in Michigan;
  • Arlen Orchard, CEO and general manager of SMUD in Sacramento, California;
  • Steve Rentfrow, general manager of Crisp County Power Commission in Cordele, Georgia; and
  • AMP’s Thompson.

Association board members are chosen to represent 10 regions across the country.