Powering Strong Communities

Biden appoints Richard Glick as Chairman of FERC

President Joe Biden has appointed Democrat Richard Glick to be Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). 

Glick, who announced the news on Twitter on Jan. 21, has been a commissioner since November 2017.  His term runs through June 30, 2022.

Biden was sworn in as President of the United States on Jan. 20.

In a Jan. 21 tweet, Joy Ditto, President and CEO of the American Public Power Association, offered her congratulations to Glick, adding that the public power community "looks forward to working with you in this new capacity!"

In other recent FERC news, Mark Christie was sworn in as a member of FERC on Jan. 4.

Christie, who was previously the Chairman of the Virginia State Corporation Commission, fills the FERC seat vacated by Bernard McNamee in September 2020. Christie is a Republican.

His term runs through June 30, 2025. 

Christie joined Commissioner James Danly (R), Commissioner Neil Chatterjee (R), Commissioner Allison Clements (D), and Glick to give FERC a full complement of five commissioners for the first time in nearly two years.

Danly on Nov. 5 was named FERC Chairman by then-President Donald Trump, replacing Chatterjee as head of the agency, but with Biden’s naming of Glick as Chairman, Danly will now serve as a commissioner.