Electricity Markets

APPA’s Ditto, Patterson, EPB President and CEO David Wade named to DOE Advisory Committee

Joy Ditto, President and CEO of the American Public Power Association, Delia Patterson, Senior Vice President of Advocacy and Communications and General Counsel at APPA, and David Wade, President and CEO of the Electric Power Board of Chattanooga, have been appointed to serve as members of the Department of Energy’s Electricity Advisory Committee (EAC).

Ditto, Patterson and Wade were three of 35 members of the EAC announced by the DOE on July 1. Twenty-two of the 35 appointed members of the EAC are returning members.

Each member of the EAC was appointed by U.S. Secretary of Energy Dan Brouillette for a two-year term.  

The group reports to the DOE’s Assistant Secretary for Electricity and meets three times a year to advise DOE on a variety of electricity issues. The members of the EAC are from state governments, regional planning entities, utility companies, cyber security and national security firms, the natural gas sector, equipment manufacturers, construction and architectural companies, non-governmental organizations, and other electricity-related organizations.

During their two-year term, the EAC members will advise DOE on current and future electric grid reliability, resilience, security, sector interdependence, and policy issues. They will periodically review and make recommendations on DOE electric grid-related programs and initiatives, including electricity-related R&D programs and modeling efforts.  

Members will also identify emerging issues related to electricity production and delivery and advise on federal coordination with utility industry authorities in the event of supply disruptions and other emergencies.

The thirty-five appointed members of the EAC began their term on July 1, 2020 and are listed alphabetically here.