Electricity Markets

APPA’s Delia Patterson, ElectriCities of North Carolina’s Jay Morrison Return As members Of DOE Panel

Delia Patterson, Senior Vice President of Advocacy and Communications and General Counsel at the American Public Power Association, and Jay Morrison, Chief Legal Officer at ElectriCities of North Carolina, are returning as members of the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Electricity Advisory Committee (EAC).

Each member of the EAC is appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Energy for a two-year term. The group works with the DOE’s Assistant Secretary for Electricity and meets three times a year to advise DOE on a variety of electricity issues.

The members of the EAC are from state governments, regional planning entities, utility companies, cyber security and national security firms, the natural gas sector, equipment manufacturers, construction and architectural companies, non-governmental organizations, and other electricity-related organizations.

During their term, the EAC members will advise DOE on current and future electric grid reliability, resilience, security, sector interdependence, and policy issues.

They will periodically review and make recommendations on DOE electric grid-related programs and initiatives, including electricity-related R&D programs and modeling efforts.

Members will also identify emerging issues related to electricity production and delivery and advise on Federal coordination with utility industry authorities in the event of supply disruptions and other emergencies.

A complete list of new and returning EAC members is available here.