Conference

Wholesale Markets Virtual Summit

Join public power and other thought leaders online for the American Public Power Association's first Wholesale Market Summit.
July 14, 2020
11:00am EDT - 6:15pm EDT

The Wholesale Markets Summit on July 14 will be a virtual/online meeting.

Register now!

Join public power and other thought leaders at the American Public Power Association's Wholesale Markets Summit virtual meeting to learn from each other, share perspectives and discuss where reforms are needed to RTO/ISO-operated wholesale markets and governance. This event will include a series of lively speakers and panels, and ample time for discussion and dialogue among the participants.

Recommended for

This event will be of interest to all stakeholders with an interest in wholesale markets – both within and outside of RTO/ISO regions, including:

  • Public power utility executives, attorneys, and government relations representatives
  • Electric industry trade associations
  • End-use consumers and consumer advocates
  • Environmental and public interest organizations
  • Academics
  • Federal and state policymakers
  • Generation suppliers and developers

Summit Agenda

Tuesday July 14, 2020


Welcome and Opening Keynote

11 – 11:30 a.m. ET / 10 – 10:30 a.m. CT / 9 – 9:30 a.m. MT / 8 – 8:30 a.m. PT

Keynote Speaker: Commissioner Richard Glick, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Panel 1: Primary Challenges to Wholesale Markets

11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. / 10:30 – 11:45 a.m. CT / 9:30 –10:45 a.m. MT / 8:30 – 9:45 a.m. PT 

  • How should the wholesale markets adapt to increased levels of renewables and storage, different patterns of weather and customer demand, resource diversity concerns, and greater levels of distributed resources? 
  • Is it time for a rethinking of resource adequacy and reliability measures? 
  • How much should markets be relied upon for resource decisions or should there be a focus on greater integrated resource planning? 

Panelists: Jennifer Chen, Duke University Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions; Rob Gramlich, Grid Strategies, LLC; Karl Hausker, World Resources Institute; Jim Wilson, Wilson Energy Economics; Representative of Midcontinent ISO (TBD) 
 

Break and Optional Open Discussion 

12:45 – 1:30 p.m. ET / 11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CT / 10:45 – 11:30 a.m. MT / 9:45 – 10:30 a.m. PT
 

Panel 2: Capacity Constructs and Needed Reforms 

1:30 – 2:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 – 1:30 CT / 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. PT

  • What do the recent rule changes in the PJM, ISO-NE and NYISO capacity constructs mean for public power, cooperatives and the states? 
  • Will these constructs survive, and if so, what reforms are needed?  

Panelists: John Coyle, Duncan & Allen; Jay Morrison, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association; Bob Weishaar, McNees Wallace & Nurick LLC; Wilkinson Barker Knauer (TBD)
 

Panel 3: Recent Developments in Energy Markets and Price Formation

2:30 – 3:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. CT / 12:30 – 1:30 p.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PT

  • What has been the impact of the energy market rule changes resulting from FERC’s price formation rule making?
  • Should there be more fundamental changes in the energy and ancillary services markets? 
  • Would adopting carbon pricing assist states in meeting carbon reduction goals?

Panelists: Steve Lieberman, American Municipal Power; Inc., Tom Rudebusch, Duncan Weinberg Genzer Pembroke; TBD
 

Break and Optional Open Discussion 

3:30 – 4:15 p.m. ET / 2:30 –  3:15 p.m. CT / 1:30 – 2:15 p.m. MT / 12:30 – 1:15 p.m. PT
 

Panel 4: The Role of Financial Entities and the Value of FTRs and Virtual Products   

4:15 – 5:00 p.m. ET / 3:15 –  4:00 p.m. CT / 2:15 – 3:00 p.m. MT / 1:15 – 2:00 p.m. PT

  • What are the risks and benefits of financial entity participation in the wholesale markets?
  • Are FTRs, CRRs and other products functioning as an adequate hedge to load?
  • If not, what rule changes are needed?  

Panelists: Gregory Poulos, Consumer Advocates of PJM States; Andrew Stevens, Managing Partner, DC Energy

Panel 5: The State of RTO/ISO Governance and Potential Improvements

5:00 – 5:45 p.m. ET / 4:00 – 4:45 p.m. CT / 3:00 – 3:45 p.m. MT / 2:00 – 2:45 p.m. PT

  • How well are the stakeholder processes working in the different RTOs?
  • Are participants able to keep up with the expanding time commitment and information overload
  • Are there best practices in governance that could improve these processes? 

Panelists:  Jason Gray, Duncan & Allen LLP;Stephanie Lenhart, Boise State University; Tyson Slocum, Public Citizen; Ed Tatum, American Municipal Power, Inc.
 

Open Discussion: Identification of Key Issues and Next Steps 

5:45 – 6:15 p.m. ET / 4:45 – 5:15 p.m. CT / 3:45 – 4:15 p.m. MT / 2:45 – 3:15 p.m. PT 
 

More Information

Registration
Phone: 202-467-2978; Email: [email protected]

Program/Content
Phone: 202-467-2921; Email: [email protected]

Billing
Phone: 202-467-2967; Fax: 202-495-7467; Email: [email protected]

The Wholesale Markets Summit on July 14 will be a virtual/online meeting.

Speaker Information

This section will be updated as speakers confirm attendance. 

Jennifer Chen, Senior Counsel, Federal Energy Policy, Duke University Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions

Jennifer focuses on electricity and infrastructure policy design to account for newer resources and technologies, such as emissions-free resources, electricity storage, advanced transmission technologies, and demand-side resources. Jennifer has testified on infrastructure and grid modernization issues before the U.S. Congress and on electricity markets issues before the U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).

John Coyle, Duncan & Allen LLP

For the past 25 years, John has represented municipalities, consumer-owned utilities and other consumer interests in proceedings before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), state utility regulatory commissions, federal and state trial and appellate courts, arbitration tribunals and, more recently, before hearing bodies established by the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) compliance enforcement authorities. Through his acute knowledge of electric operations and economics, he has developed a reputation for representing his clients efficiently, effectively and creatively, both in disputes and in transactional matters.

Jeff Dennis, Managing Director and General Counsel, Advanced Energy Economy

Jeff leads AEE’s work to increase wholesale electricity market access for advanced energy technologies and provides legal advice and counsel to all of AEE’s programs. Jeff is a nationally recognized expert in energy law and policy at the federal and state level, and a frequent author and speaker. 

Ray Gifford, Partner, Wilkinson Barker Knauer

Ray is a former state PUC chairman, think tank president, and First Assistant Attorney General. Through all these “formers,” he has learned a great deal about closely regulated industries from electricity to broadband to natural gas to railroads. His practice takes him to multiple places: state PUCs, state and federal courts, the FCC, and FERC. 

Richard Glick, Commissioner, FERC

Richard was confirmed by the U.S. Senate on November 2, 2017. Before joining the Commission, Commissioner Glick was general counsel for the Democrats on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, serving as a senior policy advisor on numerous issues including electricity and renewable energy.

Rob Gramlich, President & Founder, Grid Strategies, LLC 

Rob provides economic policy analysis for clients on electric transmission and power markets in pursuit of low-cost de-carbonization.  He serves as Executive Director of Americans for a Clean Energy Grid, Executive Director of the WATT Coalition, on the board of the Business Council for Sustainable Energy Foundation, on the Advisory Council for the Energy Systems Integration Group, on the Advisory Board of the National Regulatory Research Institute’s Regulatory Training Institute, and on the DOE “Beyond LCOE” External Advisory Board.

Jason Gray, Duncan & Allen LLP

Jason provides strategic advice and counsel to a wide range of clients regarding matters before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), state public utility commissions, state courts, federal courts, and legislative bodies, within the core practice areas of utility regulation and administrative law. 

Karl Hausker, Senior Fellow, World Resources Institute

Karl leads analysis and modeling of climate mitigation, electricity market design, and the social cost of carbon. He led the Risky Business study of clean energy scenarios for the U.S., and lectures widely on deep decarbonization. He has worked for three decades in the fields of climate change, energy, and environment in a career that has spanned legislative and executive branches, research institutions, NGOs, and consulting. He has led climate policy analysis and modeling projects for USAID, USEPA, the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, the Western Climate Initiative, and the California Air Resources Board. Much of his work has focused on the electricity and transportation sectors, and on low carbon, climate resilient development strategies.

Matthew S. Larson, Partner, Wilkinson Barker Knauer

Matthew joined Wilkinson Barker Knauer LLP after four years in private practice and counsels utilities on state and federal aspects of regulation and administrative law. Matthew has worked on matters before the Colorado Public Utilities Commission relating to transmission and renewable energy infrastructure. 

Stephanie Lenhart, Senior Research Associate with the Energy Policy Institute, part of the Center for Advanced Energy Studies, Energy Policy Institute Boise State University

Stephanie studies energy system governance, environmental policy implementation, and inter-organizational collaboration. Recent work has focused on decision-making by public utilities and electric cooperatives and inter-organizational collaboration in regional transmission organizations.

Steve Lieberman, American Municipal Power, Inc.
 
Jay Morrison, Vice-President, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
 
Gregory Poulos, Consumer Advocates of PJM States
 
Tom Rudebusch, Duncan Weinberg Genzer Pembroke

Tom has focused his practice on energy, public utility, and antitrust activities, in particular, electric bulk power supply, ratemaking, utility mergers, hydro relicensing, market compliance issues and electric industry restructuring. He has made numerous appearances in litigation before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and other agencies. He has briefed and argued before the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit and the Fifth Circuit. Tom served on the stakeholder Transition Team that established the New York Independent System Operator. Since 1999, he has represented municipally- and cooperatively-owned utilities on the Management Committee and Business Issues Committee of the NYISO.

Tyson Slocum, Director, Public Citizen

Tyson is the Director of Public Citizen's Energy Program covering the regulation of petroleum, natural gas and power markets. Tyson promotes an equitable energy transition that provides distributed renewable energy generation and sustainable transportation solutions for working families. Tyson serves on the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission’s Energy & Environmental Markets Advisory Committee, and frequently intervenes before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission representing the interests of household consumers. Tyson presents his research in congressional testimony and appears regularly in the media. Tyson is a member of the faculty at the University of Maryland Honors College, where he teaches energy and climate policy.

Andrew Stevens, Managing Partner and Co-Founder DC Energy

Andrew has significant experience in managing business objectives within a dynamically changing marketplace. 

Ed Tatum, American Municipal Power, Inc.
Robert A. Weishaar Jr, Chair of the Energy & Environmental Group, McNees Wallace & Nurick LLC

Robert's practice focuses primarily on matters involving the state and federal regulation of electricity supply and delivery, natural gas supply and delivery, and oil pipelines. As an energy lawyer, he has substantial experience with electric industry restructuring in wholesale and retail markets, and has appeared before many state regulatory commissions.

James F. Wilson, Principal, Wilson Energy Economics

James is an economist with over thirty years of experience consulting on the economic and policy issues arising from the interplay of competition and regulation in the electric power and natural gas industries.  Recent projects have involved regulatory and market policies, market analysis, resource adequacy and capacity markets, contract litigation and damages, forecasting and market evaluation, pipeline rate cases, and allegations of market manipulation, among many others.

The Wholesale Markets Summit on July 14 will be a virtual/online meeting.

Register now!

Registration Fees

Register by June 12, 2020 to receive the following rates:

Association Member

  • $425

Nonmember

  • $850

(After the early bird discount registration will increase by $50)

Not a member? Join today and save $425 on your conference registration. Call Member Services at 202-467-2926 to learn more.

Cancellation Policy

Registrants who cancel in writing on or before July 3, 2020, are entitled to a refund of their registration fee, minus a $50 cancellation fee. Registrants who cancel after July 3 will not receive a refund, but attendee substitutions will be allowed for the 2020 Wholesale Market Summit. Registrants and no-shows who do not cancel before or on July 3 are responsible for the full registration fee and are not entitled to a refund of their registration fee. Cancellations must be made in writing and mailed or e-mailed to [email protected].

More Information

If you have questions about the meeting, please contact any of the staff listed below:

Registration Information
Phone: 202-467-2941; Fax: 202-495-7505; Email: [email protected]

Program/Content Information
Phone: 202-467-2980; Email: [email protected]

Billing Information
Phone: 202-467-2967; Fax: 202-495-7467; Email: [email protected]

Frequently Asked Questions

The Wholesale Markets Summit on July 14 will be a virtual/online meeting.

What educational credits are available?

Academy events include the following opportunities for educational credits:

  • Continuing Education Units (CEUs) from the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)
  • Professional Development Hours (PDHs) as established by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES)
  • Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Ccedits from the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)

Is there international registration?

Online meeting registration is for U.S. and Canadian residents only. International registrants must provide a signed registration form — signed by the authorized cardholder — if paying with a credit card. Fax the completed registration form to 202-495-7484 or email it to [email protected]

Alternatively, you could send a check from a U.S. bank payable to American Public Power Association. Please mail completed form with full payment to our bank lock box:

American Public Power Association
P.O. Box 418617
Boston, MA  02241-8617

How can I present at the conference?

We welcome your topic and speaker ideas for future conferences and events. To submit your idea for consideration, complete this form. Conference topics are generally determined 6-8 months before the event is held. Ideas will be kept on file for a full year, so if the agenda for the conference has already been determined, your ideas will be considered for the next year’s event, or in case any space opens up in the current year’s program. You will be contacted only if your idea is selected for an upcoming conference.