Conference

Public Power Forward Virtual Summit

Discover new industry trends, technologies, and customer expectations and share your thoughts on public power’s future.
December 2 - 3, 2021
10:30am EDT - 6:00pm EDT

Public Power Forward Summit

The Public Power Forward Virtual Summit brings public power leaders together to preview and prepare for the future and the changes in technology, customer expectations, distribution models, government policies, and more.

Who Should Attend

  • General managers and CEOs
  • Policy and strategy leaders
  • Senior operations and business managers
  • Public communications staff
  • Mayors
  • City council members/commissioners
  • Governing board members (elected and appointed)
  • Industry partners, strategic thinkers subject matter experts

Agenda

Day 1 Welcome & Opening Keynote

Decarbonization, Reliability and the Future of the Electric Grid

10:30 – 11:15 a.m. ET / 9:30 – 10:15 a.m. CT / 8:30 – 9:15 a.m. MT / 7:30 – 8:15 a.m. PT

Kick off the summit with an overview of the latest developments in energy technologies and related trends in decarbonization and electrification. Discuss how the changing resource mix and other undertakings hint at where the utility industry is headed.

Robert Bryce, Energy expert, veteran journalist, and acclaimed author

Robert Bryce has been writing about energy, power, innovation, and politics for three decades. His articles have appeared in numerous publications ranging from the Wall Street Journal and National Review to the New York Times and The Guardian. Bryce’s latest book, A Question of Power: Electricity and the Wealth of Nations, was published in 2020, and his feature-length documentary, Juice: How Electricity Explains the World, is available on all major streaming platforms. The host of the Power Hungry Podcast, he lives in Austin, Texas, with his wife, Lorin, who is an art teacher, photographer, and master potter.


EVs, Electrification, and Smart Cities: Public Power Case Studies

11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. ET / 10:15 – 11:15 a.m. CT / 9:15 – 10:15 a.m. MT / 8:15 – 9:15 a.m. PT

Hear from a panel of public power utilities that have broad efforts to incentivize, educate, and manage their community’s shift to increased electrification. From rate redesign to smart community planning, learn how public power utilities are working with various stakeholders to develop the infrastructure needed for electric vehicles and smart cities.

Break

12:15 – 12:30 p.m. ET / 11:15 – 11:30 a.m. CT / 10:15 – 10:30 a.m. MT / 9:15 – 9:30 a.m. PT


Forecasting and Managing Customer Energy Assets

12:30 – 1:25 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. – 12:25 p.m. CT / 10:30 – 11:25 a.m. MT / 9:30 – 10:25 a.m. PT

As ownership of EVs and solar PVs grows, utilities are challenged with visibility into these new resources and how they might affect the utility’s system. Learn how your peer utilities locate resources – from customers with EVs to industrial customers with a solar farm – and account for new load from charging stations. Discover practical processes to address these issues and other lessons learned. 

Laura Duncan, Manager, Commercial Energy Solutions; and Drew Frye, Technology Innovation Power Utilization Engineer, Tennessee Valley Authority


Storage: Partnerships for Success 

1:30 – 2:30 p.m.ET / 12:30 – 1:30 p.m. CT / 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. PT

Whether to reduce curtailments of variable sources or to lower peak costs, public power utilities of all sizes are partnering with other entities on storage facilities. Hear from a panel of utilities of various sizes – and at different stages of project implementation – on what makes for project and partnership success. 

Elaina Ball, CEO and General Manager, Fayetteville Public Works Commission; Julie Kennedy, General Manager, Grand Rapids Public Utilities Commission, Michigan; and Michael R. Kirkwood, General Manager, Pascoag Utility District, Rhode Island


Break

2:30 – 3 p.m.ET / 1:30 – 2 p.m. CT / 12:30 – 1 p.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. – Noon PT


Next Generation Demand Response and Energy Efficiency 

3– 3:55 p.m. ET / 2 – 2:55 p.m. CT / 1 – 1:55 p.m. MT / Noon – 12:55 a.m. PT

As utilities look to advance ambitious goals for the future, energy efficiency and demand response continue to be central to efforts – with new approaches. From how utilities are shifting how they talk about energy conservation to how they promote and structure demand response programs that take advantage of the latest consumer technologies, learn what works in encouraging efficiency and managing load. 


Opportunities for Innovation with Infrastructure Funding 

4 – 5 p.m. ET / 3 – 4 p.m. CT / 2 – 3 p.m. MT / 1 – 2 p.m. PT

From creating a more advanced grid to deploying EV charging, the federal infrastructure funding offers utilities several new streams to use to upgrade and innovate. Get an outlook on potential applications and opportunities within the infrastructure funding and what the future may hold. Learn what you can do to prepare for potential funding, what’s available, and how to get started. 

Genevieve Cullen, President, Electric Drive Transportation Association, Washington, DC; and Karen Wayland, Chief Executive Officer, GridWise Alliance, Washington, DC


Roundtable Discussions

5 – 6 p.m. ET / 4 – 5 p.m. CT / 3 – 4 p.m. MT / 2 – 3 p.m. PT


Pathways to the Future Grid: DOE and Public Power 

10:30 – 11 a.m. ET / 9:30 – 10 a.m. CT / 8:30 – 9 a.m. MT / 7:30 – 8 a.m. PT

Join Kelly Speakes-Backman, Acting Assistant Secretary and Principal Deputy Secretary, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy and get a high-level overview of the various programs and efforts being undertaken at the Department of Energy’s Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy that involve or will benefit public power utilities and their customers.

Kelly Speakes-Backman, Acting Assistant Secretary and Principal Deputy Secretary, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy


Using Hydrogen: Public Power Opportunities

11  a.m. – Noon ET / 10 – 11 a.m. CT / 9 – 10 a.m. MT / 8 – 9 a.m. PT

Hydrogen is seen by some as the next big opportunity for electricity generation and storage. Learn details of how and where the hydrogen market is growing, what technologies are being developed, and challenges utilities will need to overcome for wide-scale use. Hear about several public power projects with different applications for hydrogen – including gasification, storage, and transportation.

Thomas Reddoch, Principal Technical Executive, Power Delivery & Utilization, EPRI


Break

Noon – 12:30 p.m. ET / 11 – 11:30 a.m. CT / 10 – 10:30 a.m. MT / 9 – 9:30 a.m. PT


Partnerships Propel Emerging Technologies 

12:30 – 1:25 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. – 12:25 p.m. CT / 10:30 – 11:25 a.m. MT / 9:30 – 10:25 a.m. PT

Utilities are teaming up with national labs and other institutions to be on the forefront of testing new technologies, from advanced carbon capture to black start from small hydropower plants. Explore how these collaborations came about and how your utility can get in on opportunities for collaboration. 

Carl Imhoff, Manager, Electricity Market Sector, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory; and a Representative from Idaho Falls Power, Idaho


Building Resilience in New Infrastructure

1:30 – 2:30 p.m.ET / 12:30 – 1:30 p.m. CT / 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. PT

Utilities are investing in major transmission upgrades to bolster resilience, reliability and grid security. Learn more about several public power projects to harden infrastructure, from funding to timelines and expected future benefits.

Lilian Bruce, Senior Director, Strategic Research; and Jim Glass, Manager, Smart Grid Development, EPB, Chattanooga, Tennessee  


Break

2:30 – 3 p.m.ET / 1:30 – 2 p.m. CT / 12:30 – 1 p.m. MT / 11:30 a.m. – Noon PT


Dynamic Rate Design Strategies 

3 – 3:55 p.m. ET / 2 – 2:55 p.m. CT / 1 – 1:55 p.m. MT / Noon – 12:55 a.m. PT

Flat electricity loads and the growth of distributed energy resources mean that traditional rate design may no longer adequately recover utility costs in a way that is fair to all customers. Learn why and how several utilities have moved to structures such as time of use rates. Get an overview of the helpful steps to shifting to dynamic pricing models, how these changes can affect different customers, and other takeaways in making the switch. 

Mark Brown, Chief Customer Officer, Fayetteville Public Works Commission, North Carolina; and Ahmad Faruqui, Principal, The Brattle Group, Boston, Massachusetts


Closing Keynote

4 – 5 p.m. ET / 3 – 4 p.m. CT / 2 – 3 p.m. MT / 1 – 2 p.m. PT

Joy Ditto, President & CEO, American Public Power Association

Summit Adjourns


More Information

Registration
Phone: 202-467-2978; Email: [email protected]

Program/Content
Phone: 202-467-2976; Email: [email protected]

Billing
Phone: 202-467-2967; Email: [email protected]

Sponsorship 
Phone: 202-467-2903; Email: [email protected]

The Public Power Forward Virtual Summit will be a virtual/online meeting.

Registration Fees

  Register by November 4 After November 4
Member $525 $575
Nonmember $1,050 $1,100

Not yet a member? Join today and save money on your conference registration. Call 202-467-2944 or email [email protected].

Group Discounts

Save money on each registration for the Public Power Forward Summit when your organization registers five or more people. The larger your group, the more you save!

Number of registrants Discount
(per person)

Member
Registration Fee
(per person)
Before Nov. 4

Member
Registration Fee
(per person)
After Nov. 4
1-4 n/a $525 $575
5-9 $50 $475 $525
10-14 $100 $425 $475
15+ $150 $375 $425


Contact [email protected] for more information and to request the group registration form to receive this special discount.  

Cancellation, Refund and Substitution Policy

Registrants who cancel in writing on or before Thursday, November 25, 2021 are entitled to a refund of their registration fee, minus a $50 cancellation fee. Registrants who cancel after November 25, 2021 will not receive a refund, but attendee substitutions will be allowed for the 2021 Public Power Forward Virtual Summit only. Registrants and no-shows who do not cancel on or before November 25 are responsible for the full registration fee and are not entitled to a refund of their registration fee.

Requests must be made in writing to: [email protected] 

Code of Conduct

Attendees of American Public Power Association meetings agree to abide by the APPA Code of Conduct. If attendees engage in unacceptable behavior as outlined in the Code of Conduct, the Association may take any action it deems appropriate, including, but not limited to, expulsion from the current and future meetings with no warning or refund.

Contact Us

Program Questions
[email protected]
202-467-2980

Registration Questions
[email protected]
202-467-2978

Billing Questions
[email protected]

202-467-2967

Sponsorship Inquiries
[email protected]
202-467-2903

The Public Power Forward Virtual Summit will be a virtual/online meeting.

Accreditation and Certification

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Credits

The American Public Power Association is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be addressed to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors, 150 Fourth Ave. N., Suite 700, Nashville, TN 37219-2417. Website: www.nasbaregistry.org.

Earn up to 6.6 CPE credit hours for attending this virtual conference. All sessions are intermediate-level, group-internet based offerings with no prerequisites and no advance preparation required. Areas of study will be listed on the Verification of Attendance form. For more information regarding administrative policies, such as clarification of requirements, complaints, and refunds, contact [email protected].

Continuing Education Units (CEUs)

The American Public Power Association is accredited by the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) and is authorized to issue the IACET CEU.

Professional Development Hours (PDHs)

APPA educational practices are consistent with the criteria for awarding Professional Development Hours (PDHs) as established by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Course eligibility and number of PDHs may vary by state.

Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3) Designation

Participating in conferences and seminars offered by the American Public Power Association’s Academy is an easy way to earn points toward the Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3®) designation. RP3 is the Association’s program to recognize and reward public power utilities that demonstrate basic proficiency in four important disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development, and system improvement. For more information, visit www.PublicPower.org/RP3.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the policy on refunds, cancellations and attendee substitutions?

Registrants who cancel in writing on or before Tuesday, November 2, 2021 are entitled to a refund of their registration fee, minus a $50 cancellation fee. Registrants who cancel after November 2, 2021 will not receive a refund, but attendee substitutions will be allowed for the 2021 Public Power Forward Virtual Summit only. Registrants and no-shows who do not cancel on or before November 2 are responsible for the full registration fee and are not entitled to a refund of their registration fee. 

Requests must be made in writing to: [email protected] 

What educational credits are available?

Academy events include the following opportunities for educational credits:

  • Continuing Education Units (CEUs) from the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)
  • Professional Development Hours (PDHs) as established by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES)
  • Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Ccedits from the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)

Is there international registration?

Online meeting registration is for U.S. and Canadian residents only. International registrants must provide a signed registration form — signed by the authorized cardholder — if paying with a credit card. Fax the completed registration form to 202-495-7484 or email it to [email protected]

Alternatively, you could send a check from a U.S. bank payable to American Public Power Association. Please mail completed form with full payment to our bank lock box:

American Public Power Association
P.O. Box 418617
Boston, MA  02241-8617

How can I present at the conference?

We welcome your topic and speaker ideas for future conferences and events. To submit your idea for consideration, complete this form. Conference topics are generally determined 6-8 months before the event is held. Ideas will be kept on file for a full year, so if the agenda for the conference has already been determined, your ideas will be considered for the next year’s event, or in case any space opens up in the current year’s program. You will be contacted only if your idea is selected for an upcoming conference.

What is the APPA Code of Conduct for meeting attendees?

Attendees of American Public Power Association meetings agree to abide by the APPA Code of Conduct. If attendees engage in unacceptable behavior as outlined in the Code of Conduct, the Association may take any action it deems appropriate, including but not limited to, expulsion from the current and future meetings, with no warning or refund.