Workshop

Business Intelligence & Data Analytics Workshop (Virtual)

Growing with Data
May 19 - 20, 2020
Arlington, Virginia
The Business Intelligence & Data Analytics Workshop (May 19-20) will be a virtual/online meeting.

Learn how utilities across the country are using data to improve reliability, revenue, customer satisfaction, and operations efficiency. Join your peers to discuss how utilities can collect, categorize, and use data to improve utility operations and customer satisfaction.

This workshop is designed to allow all levels of utility professionals to engage in, and benefit from, the insight data provides to utilities - from operations to management and everywhere in between. 

Register now!

Registrants will receive information on joining remotely as we get nearer to the event. If you have any questions, please reach out to [email protected].

More information

Registration Information:
Phone: 202-467-2978; Email: [email protected]

Hotel Information:
Phone: 202-467-2941; Email: [email protected]

Program/Content Information:
Phone: 202-467-2976; Email: [email protected]

Billing Information:
Phone: 202-467-2967; Fax: 202-495-7467; Email: [email protected]

Agenda

The Business Intelligence & Data Analytics Workshop (May 19-20) will be a virtual/online meeting.

Register now!

Registrants will receive information on joining remotely as we get nearer to the event. If you have any questions, please reach out to [email protected].


Tuesday, May 19

You Have More Data Scientists Than You Think
10:30 – 11:30 a.m. ET / 9:30 – 10:30 a.m. CT / 8:30 – 9:30 a.m. MT / 7:30 – 8:30 a.m. PT

Nearly all jobs involve some level of collecting and analyzing data. Learn how hiring specialized data scientists can help your utility better meet the needs of customers and improve operations. Discuss strategies for recruiting and developing more data-driven employees. 

  • Liz Jambor, Data Analytics & Business Intelligence Manager, Austin Energy, Texas
  • Includes welcoming remarks by Alex Hofmann, Sr. Director, Energy & Environmental Services, American Public Power Association

Data-Driven Change
11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.  ET  / 10:45 – 11:30 a.m. CT / 9:45 – 10:30 a.m. MT / 8:45 – 9:30 a.m. PT

Take a closer look at your utility’s performance: What do your metrics show you about what needs to change, or what isn’t what you expected? Explore how one utility’s deep dive into its employee metrics  led to changes in its approach to reliability and customer service.

  • Brent McKinney, Director, Electric Transmission & Distribution, City Utilities of Springfield, Missouri

Lunch/Mid-morning Break
12:30 – 1:15 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. CT / 10:30 – 11:15 a.m. MT / 9:30 – 10:15 a.m. PT

Benchmarking: How Does Your Utility Compare?
1:15 – 2 p.m. ET / 12:15 – 2 p.m. CT / 11:15 a.m. – 1 p.m. MT / 10:15 a.m. – Noon PT 

Review the latest research from national labs to see where your utility falls in measuring reliability and other performance indicators. Learn new metrics for how reliability, operating costs, and worker compensation are assessed and ways you can benchmark against this data. 

  • Joseph H. Eto, Staff Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, California
  • Paul Zummo, Director of Policy Research and Analysis, American Public Power Association 

Drones: Buzzing with Possibilities
2:15 – 3:15 p.m. ET / 1:15 – 2:15 p.m. CT / 12:15 – 1:15 p.m. MT / 11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. PT   

Using drones to collect data can help speed up power restoration, and even deliver pizza! But it’s time to cut through the hype and examine the pros and cons of using drones for day-to-day utility operations. Hear how other public power utilities are using drones to collect data for line design, maintenance, damage assessment, and issue spotting in remote areas. Learn how to sort through data and identify priority project areas. Understand the security threats and how to keep drones out of your substations. 

  • Scott Sligh, Chief Engineer, Riviera Utilities, Alabama

Lunch/Mid-afternoon Break
3:15 – 4 p.m. ET / 2:15 – 3 p.m. CT / 1:15 – 2 p.m. MT / 12:15 – 1 p.m. PT

Gaining New Insights from GIS
4 – 5 p.m. ET / 3 – 4 p.m. CT / 2 – 3 p.m. MT / 1 – 2 p.m. PT

Geospatial information systems (GIS) are allowing utilities to use spatial data to identify maintenance opportunities; manage and predict outage events; re-invent legacy programs, as well as enhance programs related to electric vehicles and solar. Learn how your utility can leverage geospatial data for decision-making and takeaway the latest methodologies in spatial analysis.

  • Julie Black, Economist, Data Analytics & Business Intelligence, Austin Energy, Texas
  • Bill Meehan, Director, Electric Utility Solutions, ESRI, California

Wednesday, May 20

Using AMI to Build Engagement
10:30 – 11:30 a.m. ET / 9:30 – 10:30 a.m. CT / 8:30 – 9:30 a.m. MT / 7:30 – 8:30 a.m. PT 

Your advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) provides enhanced data for your customers to understand their energy use – and for you to understand your customers. Learn how to use AMI data to segment and target specific customer groups to better connect customers with what they want – and to increase participation in your energy efficiency and demand response programs. 

  • Brad Gall, Data Analyst, The Energy Authority, Florida
  • Ed Hassler, Assistant Professor, Computer Information Systems, Walker College of Business, Appalachian State University, Boone, North Carolina
  • Jamie Russell, Director of the Appalachian Energy Center and Associate Professor of Building Science, Appalachian State University, Boone, North Carolina

Data Talks: Communication Strategy During COVID-19 
11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. ET  / 10:45 – 11:30 a.m. CT / 9:45 – 10:30 a.m. MT / 8:45 – 9:30 a.m. PT

In blue skies and during major events, having communications strategy informed by reliable data sources can help your utility effectively convey important information to customers and other stakeholders. Hear how utility communications experts used data to inform their communications decisions during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Lunch/Mid-morning Break
12:30 – 1:15 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. CT / 10:30 – 11:15 a.m. MT / 9:30 – 10:15 a.m. PT

Effectively Evaluating Energy Efficiency
1:15 – 2 p.m. ET / 12:15 – 2 p.m. CT / 11:15 a.m. – 1 p.m. MT / 10:15 a.m. – Noon PT
Learn how national labs are building frameworks for analyzing energy efficiency programs across the country in terms of cost, energy savings, and peak demand savings. Discuss ways to apply these frameworks to your utility to analyze customer load profiles; calculate the cost and value of your energy efficiency programs; and inform system planning, rate design, and energy efficiency program implementation.

  • Natalie M. Frick, Assistant Leader and Energy Efficiency Program Manager, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, California

Fostering Data Driven Decision Making: An EV Case Study
2:15 – 3 p.m. ET / 1:15 – 2 p.m. CT / 12:15 – 1 p.m. MT / 11:15 a.m. – Noon PT

What role ought your utility play when it comes to electric vehicles? Follow one utility’s journey to better understand the operational and economic impacts of EV charging, the current state of the EV market, and how rapidly it may evolve. Learn who the early adopters are and how to channel their enthusiasm to enlighten the rest of your customers. Discuss the key role of data collection and analysis in addressing all these questions.

  • Scott Benson, Manager, Resource & Transmission Planning, Lincoln Electric System, Nebraska
  • Marc Shkolnick, Manager, Energy Services, Lincoln Electric System, Nebraska

Lunch/Mid-afternoon Break
3 – 3:45 p.m. ET / 2 – 2:45 p.m. CT / 1 – 1:45 p.m. MT / 12 – 12:45 p.m. PT

Forecasting Load and Prices with AMI Data
3:45 – 5 p.m. ET / 2:45 – 4 p.m. CT / 1:45 – 3 p.m. MT / 12:45 – 2 p.m. PT

Managing and extracting data from your AMI system to conduct load and price forecasting can be daunting. Learn about cutting edge methodologies, tools, and best practices for load forecasting and takeaway direct case studies that will help your utility leverage AMI data to make better operations planning decisions.  

  • Anne Kimber, Director of Electric Power Research Center, Iowa State University, Iowa
  • Dr. Zhaoyu Wang, Assistant Professor, Iowa State University, Iowa
  • Dr. Tao Hong, Director of Big Data Energy Analytics Laboratory, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Includes closing remarks by Alex Hofmann, Sr. Director, Energy & Environmental Services, American Public Power Association

Registration

The Business Intelligence & Data Analytics Workshop (May 19-20) will be a virtual/online meeting.

Register now!

Registrants will receive information on joining remotely as we get nearer to the event. If you have any questions, please reach out to [email protected].

Registration fees

After April 22, 2020, prices will increase by $50.

  • Association Members:            $425
  • Non-Members                         $850

Hotel

The Business Intelligence & Data Analytics Workshop (May 19-20) will be a virtual/online meeting.

Frequently Asked Questions

The Business Intelligence & Data Analytics Workshop (May 19-20) will be a virtual/online meeting.

Registrants will receive information on joining remotely as we get nearer to the event. If you have any questions, please reach out to [email protected].

Cancellations/No-Show/Refunds/Substitutions

Registrants who cancel in writing on or before May 12, 2020, are entitled to a refund of their registration fee, minus a $50 cancellation fee. Registrants who cancel after May 12, will not receive a refund, but attendee substitutions will be allowed for this event only. Registrants and no-shows who do not cancel by May 12 are responsible for the full registration fee and are not entitled to a refund. Cancellations must be made in writing and emailed to [email protected]

What educational credits are available?

Academy events include the following opportunities for educational credits:

  • Continuing Education Units (CEUs) from the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)
  • Professional Development Hours (PDHs) as established by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES)
  • Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Credits from the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)

Attendees can earn up to 12.6 continuing professional education credits (CPEs) in public accountancy, as well as 1 continuing education units (CEUs) or 10.5 professional development hours (PDHs).

More questions?

Contact us at [email protected] or call 202-467-2976.