Business & Finance Conference

B&F Conference Sessions—Tuesday

Back to Business and Financial Conference Agenda

bf

Tuesday, September 15

10 - 11 a.m. ET / 9 - 10 a.m. CT / 8 - 9 a.m. MT / 7 - 8 a.m. PT
Women in Public Power: Coffee & Conversation

Our ever-popular networking event for women working in public power takes on a new format this year. Join your peers for coffee and conversation to celebrate successes and share challenges.


10 - 11 a.m. ET / 9 - 10 a.m. CT / 8 - 9 a.m. MT / 7 - 8 a.m. PT
Online Networking

Power up with coffee and connections. Visit with your peers and chat with sponsors.


11 a.m - 12 p.m. ET / 10 - 11 a.m. CT / 9 - 10 a.m. MT / 8 - 9 a.m. PT
Jennifer GolbeckDatashock: Artificial Intelligence, Connectedness, and Readying for the Big Data Future
Recommended CEUs .1 / PDHs 1 / CPEs 1.2

As we hurtle toward a society and economy powered by artificial intelligence and big data, are we in for shock? Are AI, smart algorithms, big data, and the Internet of Things really taking over? See how increasingly trackable human behavior from financial transactions to social interactions  could change the way we live, work, and do business. Explore whether AI can help the energy industry make better decisions and improve efficiencies. Learn how to recognize disruptive AI, assess its potential, and prepare for a data- and algorithm-driven future.

Jennifer Golbeck is an associate professor at the University of Maryland. Her work focuses on how to enhance the way that people interact with their information online. Her research explores the implications of our choices and actions with the internet tools we use daily.


12 - 12:15 p.m. ET / 11 - 11:15 a.m. CT / 10 - 10:15 a.m. MT / 9 - 9:15 a.m. PT
Break


12:15 - 1:15 p.m. ET / 11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m CT / 10:15 - 11:15 a.m. MT / 9:15 - 10:15 a.m. PT
Breakout Sessions
Recommended CEUs .1 / PDHs 1 / CPEs 1.2

cas Data-Driven Disruption
CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
You deployed advanced metering infrastructure, and now you have a mountain of data. Discuss strategies for how to put the data to use and how public power entities can take advantage of the tools associated with AMI systems to move their services and operations forward.

Corey Brown, Meter Services Manager, Fayetteville Public Works Commission, North Carolina; and Brad Gall, Data Analyst, The Energy Authority, Jacksonville, Florida

gafa Large Utility Roundtable
CPE Field of Study: Accounting
Meet with peers from large utilities to network and discuss the accounting and finance topics that are important to your organization. Come ready to participate and bring your success and challenges to the table.

gafa Small Utility Roundtable
CPE Field of Study: Accounting
Meet with peers from small utilities to network and discuss the accounting and finance topics that are important to your organization. Come ready to participate and bring your success and challenges to the table.

it Lessons Learned from COVID-19: IT
CPE Field of Study: Information Technology
Join this panel discussion about the key lessons learned over the last six months – and how to build new ideas and practices into your future plans.

Peter Kiley, IT Manager, North Attleboro Electric Department, Massachusetts; Becky Lehman, Technology Director, Holland Board of Public Works, Michigan; and Evan O’Mahoney, Vice President of Technology Services, CPS Energy, San Antonio, Texas 

pma Rate Design for Energy Storage      
CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
Energy storage could be a game-changing technology for the utility business model. Both utility-scale and residential storage can help utilities reduce transmission expenses and could mitigate wholesale purchase power requirements, but might also complicate load and revenue forecasting. Explore how to balance setting rates to maximize storage potential with making sure that your utility’s costs are adequately recovered.

Mark Brown, Utilities Rate Analyst, Fayetteville Public Works Commission, North Carolina

rmihrtgafa Fiduciary Coverage: Don’t Let It Get Personal
HRCI 1 / CPE Field of Study: Management Services
Utility executives and leaders making decisions on behalf of your organization’s health, dental, and retirement plans can face personal liability arising out of how these plans are managed. Learn about current market trends, typical fiduciary coverages, and what organizations should do to ensure adequate coverage to reduce personal risk to your executive team and decision makers.

Mike Amberger, Senior Consultant, Portfolio Evaluations Inc., Warren, New Jersey; Jeff James, Partner, Frazier & Deeter, Atlanta, Georgia; and Alan Peterson, Senior Vice President, CAC Specialty, Atlanta, Georgia


1:15 - 1:45 p.m. ET / 12:15 - 12:45 p.m. CT / 11:15 - 11:45 a.m. MT / 10:15 - 10:45 a.m. PT
Break


1:45 - 2:45 p.m. ET / 12:45 - 1:45 p.m. CT / 11:45 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. MT / 10:45 - 11:45 a.m. PT
Breakout Sessions
Recommended CEUs .1 / PDHs 1 / CPEs 1.2

cas AMI: Are Your Customers Telling Your Story?
CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
Many different sources are telling customers what to expect from AMI – is your utility one of them? Learn how to effectively talk about your utility’s transition to AMI and control the narrative so that your customers aren’t left with fear, uncertainty, or the wrong message.

Gina Smith, Manager  Advanced Utilities Department, Colorado Springs Utilities, Colorado; and Charise Swanson, Vice President, Client Services, Hometown Connections, Inc., Lakewood, Colorado

gafa GASB Update
CPE Field of Study: Accounting (Governmental)
Learn about the latest standards, what’s coming down the pipeline, and how the changes might affect your utility.

Deborah Beams, Supervising Project Manager, Governmental Accounting Standards Board, Norwalk, Connecticut

hrtit Hackathons and Other Tools for Innovation
HRCI 1 / CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
It is often hard to step back and find new ways to approach problems. Join our speaker to learn some hackathon-based approaches you can use to generate new ideas across the organization.

Robert Trinnear, Managing Director, The Energy Authority, Jacksonville, Florida

pma Lessons Learned from Time-of-Use Rate Deployment
CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
With a year or more of having implemented default time-of-use residential rates, learn what public power utilities have to say about deployment thus far. Peruse their data and experiences about whether or not customers shifted usage, how customer’s bills changed, how effective the rates have been for cost recovery, and how they communicated with customers about the new rates.

Alcides Hernandez, Pricing Supervisor, Planning, Pricing & Enterprise Performance, SMUD, Sacramento, California; and Randy Reuscher, Utilities Rate Analyst, Fort Collins Utilities, Colorado

rmi New Trends in Contractual Risk
CPE Field of Study: Management Services
Wildfires and COVID-19 have changed the game in contractual risk transfer and challenged planning to protect against losses caused by critical resource vendors. Hear from industry experts on emerging methods to transfer risk associated with business interruption and a contingent supply chain. Review contracts for potential risks, determine necessary insurance and indemnification requirements of vendors, and learn how to track vendor performance.

Cynthia Fee, Senior Casualty Power Specialist, AON Risk Services, Sacramento, California; and Jimmy Kinser, Director – Management Services, City Utilities of Springfield, Missouri


2:45 - 3 p.m. ET / 1:45 - 2 p.m. CT / 12:45 - 1 p.m. MT / 11:45 a.m. - 12 p.m. PT
Break


3 - 4 p.m. ET / 2 - 3 p.m. CT / 1 - 2 p.m. MT / 12 - 1 p.m. PT
Breakout Sessions
Recommended CEUs .1 / PDHs 1 / CPEs 1.2

cas Customer Satisfaction Pays
CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
Industry research data makes clear that customer satisfaction affects your utility’s bottom line. Review how utility customer satisfaction compares to other industries and learn strategies for boosting revenues through innovations in customer engagement. Explore the benefits of customer satisfaction on operating margin, revenue growth, and other results.

Jim Malcom, Chief Operating Officer, Apogee Interactive, Atlanta, Georgia; and Ellen Richardson, Former Vice President, Participant Services, Electric Cities of Georgia, Atlanta

gafa Issuing Bonds in a Volatile Market
CPE Field of Study: Accounting (Governmental)
If your utility is issuing bonds over the next year, then you’ll want to join in to learn about the latest bond types and options, competitive versus negotiated sales couponing, and how current market conditions and volatility might affect the process.

Greg Dawley, Managing Director, Christine Pihl, Managing Director, and Robert Wong, Vice President, RBC Capital Markets, Seattle, Washington

hrt Ask the Attorney
HRCI: 1 / CPE Field of Study: Personnel/HR
A perennial favorite among public power HR pros. Have your list of challenges and questions at the ready and learn how the experts – two employment attorneys – have handled similar challenges or recommend proceeding based on similar situations. Discuss how various industry challenges relate to your workforce and stay ahead of emerging issues faced by other utilities.

Mike Oliver Eckard, Office Managing Shareholder / Employment Attorney, Ogletree Deakins, Atlanta, Georgia; and Damon Elmore, Senior Executive Director – People Strategy and General Counsel, Muncie Power Products, Inc., Muncie, Indiana

itrmi Cybersecurity: Is Your Utility Ready for the Inevitable?
CPE Field of Study: Information Technology
Go beyond the firewalls of cybersecurity and address important risk management topics including: tailoring your insurance coverage to protect your utility, key roles for risk managers, and addressing cyber risk in contracts. Learn what you can do and what tools can help your organization prepare for an inevitable cyber-attack.

Sarah Baldys, Senior Vice President, FINPRO Energy & Power, Marsh JLT Specialty; and Sam Rozenberg, Engineering Services Security Director, American Public Power Association, Arlington, Virginia

pma Alternative Rates for Solar PV
CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
As more customers install rooftop solar panels, more might have different expectations about the value of the generation these systems supply to the grid. Explore the different rate design options that have been tried and contemplated with the goal of ensuring cost recovery and setting a fair rate for solar PV.

Tim Maier, General Manager, McPherson Board of Public Utilities, Kansas; Jeannette Olko, Electric Utility Division Manager, City of Moreno Valley, California; Lawrence Strawn, Corporate Analytics and Planning Manager, Orlando Utilities Commission, Florida; and Adam Young, Director, Finance and Rates, Burns & McDonnell, Kansas City, Missouri

Marginal Costs Drive Rate Designs: Understanding the Benefits (Industry Spotlight Session)
Utilities are developing rate strategies based on marginal costs and sending price signals that lower utility costs.  Dynamic pricing options are used to enable customer attraction, retention, and distributed generation strategies. This session describes how marginal costs combined with traditional cost of service studies ensure price signals benefit customers, the utility and the strategies that enhance customer acceptance.

Mark Beauchamp, President, and Chris Lund, Manager, Utility Financial Solutions, Holland, Michigan
 


4 - 4:30 p.m. ET / 3 - 3:30 p.m. CT / 2 - 2:30 p.m. MT / 1 - 1:30 p.m. PT
Break


4:30 - 5:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. CT / 2:30 - 3:30 p.m. MT / 1:30 - 2:30 p.m. PT
Breakout Sessions
Recommended CEUs .1 / PDHs 1 / CPEs 1.2

cas The Show Must Go On: Customer Accounting & Services’ Role in a Crisis
CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
Pandemic response plans have an emergency management response and plan that is distinct from other types of events. From the customer service and accounting standpoint, an added challenge is how to mitigate fear or discomfort that customers have in interacting with the utility. Learn how utilities continue to provide exceptional customer service during and after a pandemic.

Kasey Ryden, Utility Customer Service Coordinator, and Toni Threatt, Financial Services Coordinator, Edmond Electric, Oklahoma

gafa Elevating Your Budgeting Process
CPE Field of Study: Finance
Take your utility’s budgeting to the next level. First learn how to determine at what level the utility should budget and then review which non-financial metrics that should be included in the budget.

Julie Desimone, Partner, and Colleen Rozillis, Director, Advisory Services, Moss Adams, Everett, Washington

gafarmihrt Lessons Learned From COVID-19: Employees, Risks, and Accounting
HRCI: 1 / CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
Continuity of Operation Plans for natural disasters or isolated events looked great on paper. Then, COVID-19 came along. Was your organization prepared for the pandemic? Join your peers to discuss what worked, what didn’t, and what you will do differently to prepare for the next event. Explore lessons learned from a risk management, human resources, and accounting and finance perspective, such as working remotely, keeping people sequestered, pay policies, workers compensation, and more.

Vinay Dayal, Director, Corporate Insurance, New York Power Authority, White Plains, New York; Danese Simpkins, Human Resources, MEAG Power, Atlanta, Georgia; and Dennis Snook, Manager, Emergency, Preparation, & Business Continuity, Omaha Public Power District, Nebraska

it Invaluable Mobile Apps for the Remote Utility Workforce
CPE Field of Study: Information Technology
The paradigm shift has occurred in the utility industry.  You actually can have a significant number of remote employees and still operate a utility company effectively.  However, you must equip your employees with the right tools and information so that they can provide the level of service your customers expect.  In this session we will discuss and demonstrate a plethora of mobile apps that can equip your remote employees to perform at the same level as they do in the office.

Fred Christie, CIO, Easton Utilities, Maryland

pma Pricing & Market Analysis Roundtable
CPE Field of Study: Specialized Knowledge
As the conference nears its end, come join the Pricing and Market Analysis Committee to discuss what you have learned over the past two days, as well as any other pressing issues that have not yet been covered.


5:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. CT / 3:30 p.m. MT / 2:30 p.m. PT
Conference Adjourns