Public Power Daily Logo

APPA offers July 30 webinar on pole attachment issues


From the July 25, 2013 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 25, 2013

By Meghan Riley
Education Coordinator
On Tuesday, July 30, APPA will hold a webinar, Pole Attachment Issues, from 2 to 3:30 p.m., Eastern Time.

The Federal Communications Commission has enacted sweeping regulatory changes to the federal pole rules and regulations, and a federal court of appeals has upheld these changes. While the FCC's rules do not apply directly to public power utilities, it is likely that the new rules will nevertheless have a significant impact on municipal utilities. Many states have incorporated (or proposed to adopt features of) the federal pole attachment rules into state statutes or administrative law, and communications companies are likely to invoke the new federal rules as benchmarks of reasonableness in negotiating or seeking to renegotiate pole attachment agreements. 

In this webinar, Jim Baller, president, and Sean Stokes, principal—both with the Baller Herbst Law Group—will discuss new FCC access rules, including timelines for utilities to complete pole attachment application, review, and make-ready processes; new FCC telecommunications attachment rate methodology; new rules for wireless attachments; and recent and potential future developments before Congress, states and the courts.

The webinar is worth 0.2 continuing education units, 1.5 professional development hours and 1.5 continuing professional education credits. 

For more information and to register, visit www.APPAAcademy.org under Webinar Series or contact Meghan Riley at MRiley@PublicPower.org or 202/467-2919.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella
202/467-2948
JLaBella@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org