Public Power Daily Logo

Gary Stauffer is named new chair of APPA's board

From the June 20, 2013 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 20, 2013

J. Gary Stauffer, the executive director of NMPP Energy in Lincoln, Neb., was installed as chair of the APPA board of directors yesterday at the association's National Conference in Nashville, Tenn.

In 2003, Stauffer — who has more than 40 years of management experience in the energy and primary metals industries — was named executive director/CEO of NMPP Energy. NMPP is a not-for-profit joint action organization that provides electricity, natural gas and utility-related services to nearly 200 member communities in six states. He was named to the APPA Executive Committee in 2008 and was elected vice chair of the APPA board in 2011. He serves on the APPA Blue Ribbon Task Force on Climate Change and Generation Policy, is president of Public Power, Inc. and is past president of the Nebraska Power Association.

Gary Stauffer, executive director of NMPP Energy in Nebraska and new chair of APPA's board of directors, addressed attendees of the association's National Conference yesterday in Nashville, Tenn. Photo by Peyton Hoge

Prior to joining NMPP Energy, Stauffer was director of Energy Supply/Value Added Products for Volta Aluminum Co. Ltd. in Ghana, West Africa. Before that, he was director of corporate accounts for Duke Energy. He also served as president of Inland Pacific Energy Services, Inc. Stauffer began his energy industry career in 1987 with the Washington Water Power Co. in Spokane, Wash., eventually leading the company's unregulated energy businesses as president of its subsidiary, Pentzer Energy Services Inc. Stauffer began his business career with Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical Corp., where he held positions in labor relations, production management, sales and marketing during his 20-year career in primary metals. A profile of Stauffer, "The Adventurer," is in the online edition of Public Power magazine.

"Public power employees keep the light on and the beer cold," Stauffer told National Conference attendees yesterday. "They do it because it needs to be done and their neighbors count on them. That's public power."

"Gary’s track record of leadership in the energy industry is well documented," said APPA President and CEO Mark Crisson. "He has been involved extensively with public power and APPA in particular, serving as chair of Public Power Inc., and as a member of the APPA Task Force on Climate Change and Generation Policy. APPA continues to benefit enormously from his broad experience in the energy industry and his innate ability to innovate and problem solve. As a leader of an organization that provides power and other services to over 200 public power systems, he knows first-hand the challenges faced by our members in today’s rapidly changing environment and is well suited to helping our members overcome those challenges and position themselves for success in the future."

Paula DiFonzo, CEO of New Braunfels Utilities in Texas, is APPA's chair-elect for 2013-14 and Mel Davis, utility director of Lawrenceburg Municipal Utilities in Indiana, is vice chair. Phyllis Currie, general manager of Pasadena Water and Power in California, is immediate past chair. Paul McElroy, managing director and CEO of JEA in Jacksonville, Fla., is treasurer.

Stauffer chose five members of the board to serve with the officers on the APPA Executive Committee. They are: Andrew Boatright, electric utility manager of Westerville Electric in Ohio; Austin Carroll, general manager, Hopkinsville Electric System, Kentucky; Ronald E. Davis, general manager of Burbank Water and Power, California; Douglas Hunter, general manager of Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems, Salt Lake City; and Paul Pallas, superintendent of electric utilities, village of Rockville Centre, N.Y.

Newly elected to the APPA board this year are: Kevin Gaden, president and CEO of the Illinois Municipal Electric Agency and the Illinois Municipal Utilities Association, Springfield, Ill.; Nilaksh Kothari, general manager of Manitowoc Public Utilities, Wisconsin; Scott Miller, general manager of City Utilities of Springfield, Mo.; Steve G. Saum, director of utilities, Danville Utilities Department, Virginia; and Walter D. Schlink, director of power resources, Rochester Public Utilities, Minnesota.

Six board members were re-elected to new three-year terms: John Bilda, general manager of Norwich Public Utilities, Connecticut; Bill Bottiggi, general manager of Braintree Electric Light Department, Massachusetts; Ronald E. Davis, general manager of Burbank Water and Power, California; Brian Skelton, general manager of Tullahoma Utilities Board, Tennessee; Coleman Smoak, general manager of Piedmont Municipal Power Agency, Greer, S.C.; and Jim Posey, general manager of Anchorage Municipal Light and Power Department, Alaska.

APPA board members are chosen to represent 10 regions across the country.


Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro