American Public Power Association Names 2015-2016 Officers

June 10, 2015

Press Release

Doug Hunter of Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems (UAMPS) Selected as Chair

Minneapolis, Minn., June 10, 2015 – Doug Hunter, general manager of Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems (UAMPS) in Salt Lake City, was installed as chair of the American Public Power Association (APPA) Board of Directors at the association’s National Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Hunter is a 35 year veteran of the electric utility industry, and he holds degrees from both University of California Davis and Utah State University. As general manager at UAMPS, he pays close attention to member needs as well as new opportunities for conservation and energy efficiency, distributed generation, and new technologies. UAMPS is a joint action agency that provides electric energy resources to 44 community-owned power systems in Utah, Arizona, California, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon and Wyoming. At UAMPS, Hunter has made it his goal to achieve a balanced resource mix, with new emphasis on cleaner and more carbon-free generation, while also retaining safe, stable, and cost-efficient baseload resources that will serve customers many years into the future.

“Doug has been an invaluable member of the APPA board since 2011,” said APPA President & CEO Sue Kelly. “His contributions and expertise in the area of new generation have been particularly appreciated. I look forward to working with him this year in his new leadership role.”

Andrew M. Boatright, electric utility manager of Westerville Electric Division in Ohio, is Public Power's chair-elect for 2015-16. Walter W. Haase, general manager of the Navajo Tribal Utility Authority in Fort Defiance, Arizona, is vice chair. Paula DiFonzo, CEO of New Braunfels Utilities in Texas, is immediate past chair. Paul McElroy, managing director and CEO of JEA in Jacksonville, Florida, is treasurer.

Hunter chose five members of the board to serve with the officers on the APPA Executive Committee.  They are:  Bill Bottiggi, general manager of Braintree Electric Light Department in Massachusetts; Ronald E. Davis, general manager of Burbank Water and Power in California; Scott Miller, general manager of City Utilities of Springfield, Missouri; Decosta Jenkins, president and CEO of Nashville Electric Service in Tennessee; and William Gaines, Director/CEO of Tacoma Public Utilities in Washington.

Newly elected to the APPA board this year are: Jolene Thompson, executive director of the Ohio Municipal Electric Association in Columbus, Ohio; Barry Moline, executive director of the Florida Municipal Electric Association in Tallahassee, Florida; Steve Rentfrow, general manager of Crisp County Power Commission in Cordele, Georgia; and Hugo Hodge, Jr., executive director/CEO of Virgin Islands Water and Power in St. Thomas.

Seven board members were re-elected to new three-year terms: Colin Hansen of Kansas Municipal Utilities in McPherson, Kansas; Leon Schochenmaier of Pierre Municipal Utilities in South Dakota; Kevin Wailes of Lincoln Electric System in Nebraska; Phil Williams of Denton Municipal Electric inTexas; Leslie James of the Colorado River Energy Distributors Association in Phoenix, Arizona; Fred Clark, Jr. of the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority in Montgomery, Alabama; and Decosta Jenkins of Nashville Electric Service in Tennessee.

Public Power board members are chosen to represent 10 regions across the country.