Public Power Daily Logo

Deadlines approaching for APPA NERC CIP Version 5 Compliance Program Development Workshop


From the August 29, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 29, 2014

By Lee Krinzman
Manager, Education
Attendees planning to participate in the American Public Power Association’s NERC CIP Version 5 Compliance Program Development Workshop are encouraged to register and make their hotel reservations soon. The deadline to take advantage of the early registration price is Sept. 8. Starting on Sept. 9, registration fees will increase by $50.

The deadline to make hotel reservations in the APPA room block at the Scottsdale Resort and Conference Center is also Sept. 8. There is an additional $100 discount for those who attend more than one course or who register with a colleague. 

This workshop will be held Sept. 29-30 in Scottsdale, Arizona, and features a number of experts on the North American Electric Reliability Corp.'s Critical Infrastructure Protection (CIP) rules. The workshop will include case studies from public power utilities across the country. Participants will share best practices, concerns, and challenges; learn what’s worked and what hasn’t from others; and get answers to NERC CIP Version 5 compliance questions.  

The curriculum consists of the following topics:
•    Technical Issues for Compliance 
•    Processes and Procedures to Meet Compliance Deadlines
•    Planning Resources/Budget Considerations for Compliance Implementation and Maintenance
•    Developing the Proper Documentation for a CIP Audit
•    Compliance Considerations: Making the Transition 
•    Status of CIP Version 5 Revisions

In conjunction with this workshop, APPA will also hold the Fall Education Institute and Public Power Leadership Workshop during the week of Sept. 29 in Scottsdale.  

For more information on these events, visit www.APPAAcademy.org or contact Meghan Riley at 202/467-2919 or MRiley@PublicPower.org.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org