Public Power Daily Logo

APPA to host Grid Security Summit near Washington, D.C., in November


From the August 26, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 26, 2014

By Lee Krinzman
Manager, Education
APPA will hold a Grid Security Summit Nov. 12-13 at the Hilton Crystal City in Arlington, Va., just outside Washington, D.C. The summit is designed to educate decision makers and utility leaders on important policy, legal, and economic issues surrounding the cyber and physical security of the electric grid.
 
The program will shed light on how electric utilities can comply with standards; continuously upgrade security measures to protect the grid against evolving threats; and employ sophisticated techniques to allow the grid to recover quickly, should an attack occur. 

Topics will include:
•    Legislative Outlook
•    Public Power Mutual Aid Update
•    Framework and Tools to Help You Succeed in Cyber Preparedness
•    Ensuring that You Receive FEMA Funding
•    Emerging Threats and Vulnerabilities for the Electricity Sector
•    Protective Measures for Physical Security
•    Developing a Cyber Awareness Program that Empowers Employees
•    Organizational Management: Don’t Get Caught in the IT vs. OT Debate
•    Industry/Government Coordination on Cybersecurity and Physical Preparedness Your Utility’s Public Relations Posture
•    Electric Utility Industry Outlook

Grid Security Summit registration fees are $445 for APPA members and $890 for nonmembers who register before Oct. 20. After that date, registration fees will increase by $50.
 
For more information on this event, visit www.APPAAcademy.org or contact Meghan Riley at 202/467-2919 or MRiley@PublicPower.org
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org