Public Power Daily Logo

Short takes ...


From the August 21, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 21, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor, Public Power Daily
Rep. Mike Doyle, D-Pa., and Sen. Ed Markey, D-Mass., on Aug. 19 urged the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to pre-empt state laws limiting municipal broadband. In a joint statement, the two encouraged FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler and the commission itself to "take quick and decisive action to lift restrictions that limit or prevent communities from addressing their own broadband needs."
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org