Public Power Daily Logo

EPA publishes final rule on cooling water intake structures


From the August 19, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 19, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director

The Environmental Protection Agency’s final rule on cooling water intake structures was published in the Aug. 15 Federal Register—more than two months after EPA issued a prepublication version of the rule (see Public Power Daily, May 20). The final rule establishes requirements under Section 316(b) of the Clean Water Act for all existing power generating facilities and existing manufacturing and industrial facilities that withdraw more than 2 million gallons per day of water from waters of the U.S. and use at least 25 percent of the water they withdraw exclusively for cooling purposes. EPA said the rule covers roughly 1,065 existing facilities—544 power plants and 521 factories.

The effective date of the final rule will be Oct. 14, 2014. More information is posted on the EPA's website.

 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org