Public Power Daily Logo

National Electrical Safety Code is 100 years old; public comment invited on 2017 preprint

From the August 13, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 13, 2014

By Meena Dayak
Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
For 100 years, the National Electrical Safety Code (NESC) has provided best practices for the safety of electric supply and utility communication systems at both public and private utilities. 

"Steadily refined over 100 years, the NESC is a fundamental element in the culture of safety that has gathered across electric power utilities," said Mike Hyland, NESC chair and senior vice president of engineering services at the American Public Power Association (APPA). "The work to enhance and update the code continues today, and the success of the effort is quantifiable." Read more about the utility culture of safety in Hyland's blog post.

See an infographic that outlines the NESC development timeline and history. The NESC is a collaborative work, and is frequently revised with significant input from the businesses and industries it serves. 

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the secretariat of the NESC since 1972, facilitates a structured five-year process that invites open input on the NESC’s ongoing refinement. From Sept. 1, 2014 through May 1, 2015, IEEE will accept public comment on the 2017 "preprint" of the NESC. The preprint includes proposals for changes in the code that are submitted by interested parties and reviewed by a NESC subcommittee. This eight-month open commentary period allows any interested party to review, affirm or suggest additional changes. The relevant NESC subcommittees consider the proposed revisions and comments.

To learn more about how to participate in the ongoing open-commentary period and submit input electronically, visit the NESC website. IEEE especially seeks the input of consulting and specifying engineers to ensure that the NESC remains practical, relevant and up to date.


Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro