Public Power Daily Logo

APPA paper reviews smart grid data privacy guidelines


From the August 13, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 13, 2014

A new paper by the American Public Power Association (APPA) consolidates smart grid data privacy guidelines and recommendations from several different sources. The model guidelines and recommendations center on consumer privacy protections related to utilities sharing personal and energy usage information with third parties. While not meant to be proscriptive or an exhaustive list of recommended policies, the paper, Smart Grid Data Privacy Concerns: An Overview of Recommended Guidelines, is intended to capture common principles that have emerged in the various model guidelines thus far. 

The paper by Paul Zummo, APPA’s manager of policy research and analysis, covers guidelines that have been formulated by data privacy task forces established by the North American Energy Standards Board and the Department of Energy, as well as the University Vermont School of Law. California and Colorado rulemakings have also been incorporated in the paper. The paper is meant to assist utilities in developing their own individual smart grid data privacy policies, Zummo said. "A clearly established and publicly available policy will mitigate at least some customer concerns about smart meters in general, and will help clear the way for wider acceptance of smart meter implementation," the paper notes.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org