Public Power Daily Logo

FERC's Norris resigns


From the August 8, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 8, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
As was expected, Commissioner John Norris yesterday sent a letter to President Obama resigning his seat on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). The resignation will take effect on Aug. 20, he said in a statement posted on the FERC website. Norris is taking a post as minister-counselor for the U.S. Department of Agriculture in Rome, Italy. 

"It has been a great honor to serve with all the exceptional professionals and public servants who make up the FERC family and so many dedicated energy stakeholders in the public and private sectors. I want to say a special thank you to the incredible personal staff I have had throughout my tenure on the Commission," Norris said.

SNL Financial reported earlier this week that the commissioner was expected to resign his seat. (See the Aug. 7 Public Power Daily.) Colette Honorable, president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), has been mentioned as a possible candidate to replace Norris. 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org