Public Power Daily Logo

12 states challenge EPA's proposed CO2 rule in court, seeking to undo 2011 settlement


From the August 5, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 5, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
Twelve states, led by West Virginia, have filed suit to challenge the Environmental Protection Agency's proposed rule limiting carbon dioxide emissions from existing power plants.

The lawsuit, filed July 31 with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Clrcuit, asks the court to overturn a 2011 settlement agreement in which the EPA promised to set greenhouse gas limits for power plants. The EPA reached the 2011 settlement agreement with 11 states, the District of Columbia, New York City, and three environmental groups.

The EPA published its proposed rule on CO2 for existing power plants in the June 18 Federal Register and is taking public comments on it until Oct. 16.

The EPA's proposed rule "will have devastating effects on West Virginia's jobs and its economy," said the state's attorney general, Patrick Morrisey. 

The states joining West Virginia in the suit are: Alabama, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, and Wyoming.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org