Public Power Daily Logo

LES to launch community solar program tomorrow


From the August 1, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published August 1, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
The Lincoln Electric System in Nebraska is launching a community solar program, LES SunShares, tomorrow. Among those confirmed to speak are Lincoln Mayor Chris Beutler and LES Administrator and Chief Executive Officer Kevin G. Wailes.

"Not everyone can afford to put solar on the roof," the city-owned utility noted. Through the new program, customers will be able to support solar power in their community for as little as $3 per month, LES said.

Customer participation is voluntary, and could help LES build a solar farm with as much as 10 megawatts of solar-generated electricity, the utility said.

The program will run through 2034, and customers can start enrolling tomorrow.

Construction and commercial operation of the facility are scheduled for next year.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org