Public Power Daily Logo

Intermountain Power Agency, Union Pacific reach agreement in dispute over coal shipping rates


From the July 29, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 29, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
The Intermountain Power Agency (IPA) and Union Pacific Corp. have reached an agreement in principle to resolve their long-running dispute over the railroad’s coal rates. In a July 21 joint motion, they told the Surface Transportation Board (STB) they "believe that they will be able to reach a full and final negotiated resolution of their rate dispute that will include the development and execution of a rail transportation contract." They asked the STB to take no further action on IPA’s complaint against Union Pacific, pending completion of a contract.

IPA filed an initial complaint in 2010 and a modified complaint in 2012, saying Union Pacific’s rate exceeded 180 percent of the variable cost of providing the service.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org