Public Power Daily Logo

Educational opportunities for accounting, finance professionals at Business & Financial Conference


From the July 28, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 28, 2014

By Meghan Riley
Education Coordinator
APPA's 2014 Business & Financial Conference will offer many topics specifically for public power professionals in the areas of accounting, finance and audit.  

Topics covered at the conference, to be held Sept. 14-17 in Portland, Ore., will include: 

•    GASB Update 
•    Bonds for Newbies
•    Detecting and Mitigating Fraud
•    Analytical Tools to Enhance Management Reporting
•    Are Utilities Overpaying to Finance Projects?
•    IRS Audits of Tax-Exempt Bonds
•    Long Range Financial Planning
•    Pole Attachments: Maximizing Revenue & Benefits
•    Practical Steps in Implementing the New Pension Standards: GASB 68

The conference also offers educational sessions for utility professionals in the areas of pricing, market analysis, customer accounting, customer services, human resources, and information technology. The program will include roundtable discussions, networking breakfasts, receptions and other opportunities for networking and information exchange. 

Attendees will also have an opportunity to attend in-depth pre-conference seminars on Sunday, September 14. Topics include Sustainability Accounting and Reporting; Distributed Generation: Unique Issues Facing Public Power; Establishing and Strengthening the Internal Audit Function in Your Utility; and Utility Data Analytics: Turning Data into Value.

Visit www.publicpower.org/BandF for complete program information and to register.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org