Public Power Daily Logo

APPA offers July 29 webinar on rate making for utility boards and councils


From the July 24, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 24, 2014

By Heidi Lambert
Manager, Education
On Tuesday, July 29, from 2 to 3:30 p.m., Eastern time, the American Public Power Association (in conjunction with Hometown Connections) will hold a webinar on Strategic Planning for Utility Boards and City Councils. This is the sixth in a series of nine webinars designed to educate elected and appointed public power board and city council members on the responsibilities and processes of electric utility governance. 

Among the most important aspects of utility governance are identifying the organizational priorities and setting the utility’s strategic direction, usually through a strategic planning process. In this webinar, Steve Vandermeer, senior vice president of planning and marketing for Hometown Connections (an APPA subsidiary), will explore the values that must be present in strategic planning in a public organization, and will examine one approach to utility strategic planning and the board and/or council’s roles in that process. 

Upcoming webinars will address performance monitoring and accountability for boards and city councils and how to achieve excellence in public power governance. 

Each webinar is worth 0.2 continuing education units, 1.5 professional development hours and 1.5 continuing professional education credits. Webinars can be taken individually or as a series for a discounted rate. They can also be applied to APPA’s Public Power Governance Certificate Program. 

For more information, visit www.APPAAcademy.org or contact Meghan Riley at 202/467-2919 or MRiley@PublicPower.org.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org