Public Power Daily Logo

O'Malia resigns from CFTC


From the July 23, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 23, 2014

By Robert Varela
Editorial Director
Scott O’Malia is stepping down from the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC), effective Aug. 8. In a July 21 letter to President Obama, he said he was leaving "to pursue other opportunities" without specifying what those were. O’Malia has been a strong supporter of relief from CFTC rules that restricted the ability of utility special entities (including public power utilities) to engage in swaps to hedge risks stemming from their electricity or natural gas operations.
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org