Public Power Daily Logo

CPS Energy's commercial energy calculator from Apogee helps businesses cut energy costs


From the July 23, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published July 23, 2014

CPS Energy, the municipal electric and natural gas utility in San Antonio, Texas, said yesterday it has launched a new online energy calculator to help its business customers pinpoint ways to cut energy use and costs in their facilities. 

Developed by Apogee Interactive, and featured on the CPS Energy Savers Program website (www.cpsenergysavers.com), the calculator is pre-programmed with factors that affect a customer's energy bill, such as local weather and the average CPS Energy price, along with the average profiles of 60 different business types. 

Once the customer enters a few key characteristics about their facility using simple drop-down menus and presses "submit," the calculator does all the analytical work. It displays graphics showing electric and fuel use by equipment, month and year. The customer clicks on "view report" to see the complete personalized energy use analysis. 

Specific low-cost energy saving recommendations and longer-term investment recommendations are identified and quantified in dollars so businesses can evaluate the best course of action for their operations. 

"For every dollar we help our business customers save, we help improve their bottom line and the strength of our local economy," said Dan Kahn, program administrator for commercial rebates at CPS Energy. "Businesses want to keep operating costs down to remain competitive and CPS Energy wants to reduce energy demand to help delay the need for new power plants," he said. "It's a true win-win." 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org